ULM logo
Division of Business Affairs
Facilities Management and Environmental Health & Safety (EHS)

Driver Safety Program

The Driver Safety Program is mandated by state law with the purpose of reducing incidents and accidents while driving on official University business.  For details on the program please refer to the policy: HERE . 

Refer to the link in the left navigation for a current list of authorized drivers.

To be authorized to drive on University business you must be an employee and:

  1. Complete the Driver Authorization Form
  2. Complete the Online Driver Safety Course (Defensive Driving Class)
  3. Send the completed authorization form and certificate of completion for the online driver safety course to the ULM Safety office via campus mail. 

NOTE: A new Driver Authorization form must also be completed and submitted to EHS in the event of name change, class of license change, driving restriction change, or change in state of issuance. (examples include: name change in case of marriage/divorce, class change from E to D, or from out-of-state to in-state license, etc.).

All new drivers will be required to take the online defensive driving course within 90 days of hire date.  All authorized drivers are required to repeat the defensive driving course once every three (3) years.

Driver Safety Policy


 **Please do not sign on the line for Agency Head or Designated Individual.**


 Student Driving

Regular students who are not employed by the University of Louisiana at Monroe do not fall under the driver safety program of the Louisiana Office of Risk Management. Students traveling for official ULM sanctioned events must be deemed authorized travelers by Dr. Bruno in order to be reimbursed for personal mileage. This does not make them an insured traveler or the event an insured activity.

Student travel forms are located here:  https://webservices.ulm.edu/forms/officesdepartments/student-travel 


 

Any persons who are not official state employees must sign the Acknowledgement of Non-State Employees Utilizing State Vehicles form linked below prior to riding in or driving a state-owned vehicle or rental vehicle on behalf of the State of Louisiana:

 Acknowledgement Form

Always Remember:

  • You must notify this office of any moving violations within 24 hours
  • You must retake the defensive driving course upon receipt of any moving violation or involvement in an accident
  • You must fill out a DA 2041 and submit to this office within 48 hours of any accident while on state business
  • You cannot use wireless telecommunications devices of any type while driving on official state business

2017 Fiscal Year Insurance

All state vehicles should keep proof of insurance in the glove box with a copy of the DA 2041, Vehicle Accident Form. Proof of insurance can be found here on the ORM website.


©