Lambda Sigma Chapter of Sigma Delta Pi Initiates Ten



The Lambda Sigma chapter recently meet for its Fall 2016 initiation. President Allison Ogden, Vice President Sarah Harris, and Secretary Kylie Kukowski conducted the ceremony with the assistance of Yoximar Araujo, Erin Ward, and Danielle Crawford. The ceremony took place in Walker Hall on the University of Louisiana at Monroe campus. Spanish faculty members Dr. Charles Holloway, Ms. MaryBlanche Wortham, and Dr. Ruth E. Smith also attended.

The ten students who were inducted came from a number of programs on campus: Derek Dozier (Modern Languages/Biology), Kyle Gresham (Biology), Josh Hall (Modern Languages), Caitlyn Martel (Communication), Jasmine Nguyen (Biology), Thomas Ruff (Modern Languages), Zakinya Shaw (Modern Languages), Tanner Traweek (Biology), Chelsea Veldhuizen (Biology), and Allison Willard (Kinesiology).

The Lambda Sigma chapter was founded in 1976. Sigma Delta Pi began in 1919 and now has chapters throughout the United States and in Canada and Puerto Rico. The organization recognizes the enthusiasm and scholastic success of students of Spanish.