THE UNIVERSITY OF LOUISIANA AT MONROE

Commencement Committee Minutes July 21, 2008

Members Present: R. Chardkoff, J. Cottingham, K. Crowley, D. Eichhorn, S. Humes, M. Koper, A. Picard, C. Thameling, E. Williamson, M. Wortham.

Members Absent: B. Bennett, C. Browder, R. Brown, D. Buczala, M. Caldwell, S. Chaney, S. Chenoweth, S. Davidson, T. Doke, L. Ellerman, A. Feig, R. Fiorillo, K. Friery, L. Harris, A. Hibbets, S. Hill, S. Jones, R. Keiser, C. Lee, J. McKeithen, M. Michel, U. Ograk, S. Owens, M. Ramsey, L. Reid, L. Rodden, B. Smith, R. Stephenson, D. Stokes, N. White.

The July 21, 2008, meeting of the Commencement Committee (CC), held in the Arts and Sciences Conference Room, was called to order at 3:38 p.m. by Committee Chair Karen Crowley. The meeting was comprised of the following agenda items:

1. Welcome

Ms. Crowley welcomed committee members, thanking them for their attendance and willingness to serve.

2. Overview of 2008 Summer Commencement

Ms. Crowley noted the following:

- As of this date, we will award 216 degrees, with 12 graduating in absentia. However, we can expect those numbers to
 decrease when we remove those who did not meet degree requirements and identify additional students who will graduate
 in absentia.
- Dr. Pamela Higgins Saulsberry, Professor and Department Head of Social Work, will deliver the Commencement Address.
- Dr. Patrick Hébert, Professor of Communication Studies, will be the announcer for the ceremony.
- The name of the soloist has not yet been released.
- Dr. Donna Rhorer, 2008-09 Faculty Senate President, will represent the Senate during the ceremony.
- The final determination regarding faculty marshals has not been made.

3. Review of Rehearsal and Ceremony Instructions

- Emily Williamson reviewed the marshals' assignments and the related diagram of Fant-Ewing. Committee members discussed the assignments, and questions were answered.
- Dr. Richard Chardkoff will assume the responsibilities of distributing honors cords and answering questions posed by graduates and guests in the ramp area. He will be posted behind the diploma stage.
- Donna Eichhorn will attempt to engage a student organization to assist Marge Michel and Robert Williamson in seating wheelchair-bound guests as they enter/exit Fant-Ewing via the ramp entrance.

4. Other Business

- Ms. Crowley reminded CC members that they will receive meeting minutes via email for review and approval.
- According to Ms. Crowley, a decision regarding summer commencement ceremonies should be forthcoming.
- Ms. Crowley acknowledged the dedicated service rendered by Dr. Ross Keiser, Dr. McKeithen, Dr. Mike Ramsey, and Linda Reid, all of whom are rotating off the committee after the upcoming ceremony.
- Beginning in August, students' rehearsal packets will be revised to include fewer pages. Rather than inflating the packets
 with materials most students do not utilize, we will direct students arriving for rehearsal to use the seating information
 posted inside the Coliseum.
- Brett Bennett, Dr. Jean Cottingham, Donna Eichhorn, and Marlena Koper will help hang signs at 5:30 p.m. on Thursday, August 7.
- The Commencement Committee's next meeting will be at 8:45 a.m. on August 11, 2008, the first day of University Week.

5. Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 4:02 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Kard. Crowley

Karen A. Crowley, Chair Associate University Registrar

28 July 2008

Approved as Presented