Archived News | Return to News Center

November 18, 1999

Police Academy Graduates 35

Thirty-five law enforcement officers from northeast Louisiana graduated from the North Delta Regional Training Academy in ceremonies Thursday night at the Nursing Building Auditorium on the University of Louisiana at Monroe campus. This is the 69th class of officers to graduate from the Academy which is conducted by ULM.

Lieutenant Kirk Petterson, a 20-year veteran of the Monroe Police Department, served as the keynote speaker. Petterson serves in the Criminal Intervention Bureau and also serves as an instructor at the Academy.

The graduates represented seven police departments, six sheriff's offices and one state park. The officers and their agencies are:

Sandra L. Alexander, Sherri R. Gray and Charles Louis Palmer, Bastrop Police Department; Benny Douglas, Caldwell Parish Sheriff's Office; Huey D. George and Wilbert Earl Johnson, East Carroll Parish Sheriff's Office; Nicole Adams, Lake Claiborne State Parks; Kathy J. Tafoya, Marion Police Department.

Patrick Atchison, Darren K. Canales, James B. Crouch, Donald G. Duncan, Jr., David G. Nelson and Gregory R. Taylor, Monroe Police Department; Chris Chunn, Judy Hawthorne and James E. Shockey, Morehouse Parish Sheriff's Office; Amy Brodie, W. Dean Brown, Joy May, Reginald Ricard and Robert M. Young, Jr. Ouachita Parish Sheriff's Office.

John James, Rayville Police Department; Irma Carter, Gregory R. Colvin, Anne Jones, Sherry A. Pruitt, James D. Rawls, II, Jessica Marie Ross, Curtis Stubblefield and Randal S. Swain, Richland Parish Sheriff's Office; Mack L. Jackson, Richwood Police Department; L. Paul Landry, II, ULM Police Department; Tony Sawyer, Union Parish Sheriff's Office; and Jeffery Winborne, Winnsboro Police Department.

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.