Archived News | Return to News Center

May 5, 2000

ULM honors Academic Awards winners

Over 60 University of Louisiana at Monroe students were honored for their academic achievements during the Academic Awards Assembly held last week in the ULM Nursing Building Auditorium.

Outstanding students from each of the University's colleges and from various departments were recognized as well as members of the Who's Who in American Colleges and Universities, Omicron Delta Kappa and Mortar Board.

The following is a list of the awards and recipients:

Beverly Jean Marvin Memorial Art Award--Melissa Hatcher, Rebecca Kuzma, Brette George, Kelley May, Julie Floyd; Outstanding Freshman in Computer Science--Ashley K. Nero; Senior Computer Science Award Andrew Charles Bentley; McKneely Scholarship (English)--Gerald Alva Miller, Jr.; Outstanding Senior in Family and Consumer Science--Tiffany L. Richardson; Robert L. Holt Scholarship for Excellence in Chemistry--Chloe Marie Landry; American Institute of Chemists Outstanding Graduating Senior Award--Marie Chloe Landry; American Institute of Chemists Outstanding graduating Masters Student in Chemistry--Anita Anant Dalvi; Chemical Rubber Company Outstanding Chemistry Freshman--John Floyd Taylor.

Analytical Chemistry Student Award--Christopher Fitzgerald; Outstanding Organic Chemistry Student--Jason James Wells; Lewis C. Slater Award (Service to the Chemistry Department)--Neely Linn Fontenot; Frances Baldwin Scholarship (Chemistry)--Chris R. Fenoli; Graduate Research Award in Speech-Language Pathology--Tracy White, Pamela Shatto, Lori Snook; NSSLHA Student Honors for 2000 (ULM Chapter of the National Student Speech-Language Hearing Association--Stephanie Stone; Excellence in Psychology Award--Crystal Nicole Harper; Ada Bess Hart Award (Health and Human Performance)--Leah Melder and Todd C. Wroten; A.S. Huffman Award (Health and Human Performance)--Jennifer A. Menhennett and Russell P. Suire; George T. Walker Senior Award (Faculty Council and Department of Athletics)--Kond Allen.

Preston Juvenal Freshman Award (Faculty Athletic and Department of Athletics)--Andy Chance and Rachel Casillas; Mallinckrodt Award for Excellence (Radiologic Technology)--Andy Richard Allen; Alpha Delta Kappa Alpha Gamma Chapter Award (Teacher Education)--Jennifer Guillot; Alpha Delta Kappa Alpha Chapter Award (Teacher Education)--Lonna Bagwell; Delta Kappa Gamma Oneita Tillman Award (Teacher Education)--Virginia A. Wallace; Delta Kappa Gamma alpha Nu Chapter (Teacher Education)--Sarah LeGrone; George and Ruth Smith Memorial Honors Award (ULM Honors Program)--Amanda Feldhaus, Ashley Guillory, Candace Henderson, Kevin Oliver; Gabriela Mistral Award (Spanish)--Roxie A. Hankins; H.B. "Hank" Hargrove Memorial Award (Aviation)--Adam D. Sanders; Oberah Massey Fisher British Studies Award--Tim L. LeBlanc.

Arlen Zander British Studies Scholarship Award--Thomas Aaron Finley; Brian Gregory Memorial Scholarship (History)--Will Rhymes Barham; Brian Gregory Graduate Award in History--Vanessa Heldstab-Jacobs; Dr. Thomas E. Stricklin History Award for Service--Christina Wall; Dr. Thomas E. Stricklin Undergraduate Award--Lauren LaRavia; Thomas Young Harp Memorial Scholarship (History)--Janice I. Hammond; Winston R. Mizell Memorial Scholarship Award--Radka Petrova; Glenn F. Powers Honor Scholarship (Alpha Lambda Delta)--Melissa Michelle Watts; Alpha Lambda Delta National Jo Ann Trow Outstanding Member Award--Ashley Nicole McGraw; Mary Davidson Memorial Scholarship (Nursing)--Valerie D. Guitreau; Helen Cannon Memorial Nursing Scholarship--Pamela Hebert; Maurie Anne Hancock Memorial Nursing Scholarship--Crystal P. Sanches.

Maurie Anne Hancock Memorial Nursing Scholarship--Karlinda K. Nero; Nominee for Helene Fuld Health Trust Award--Thomas Michael George; Monroe District Nurses Association--April R. Tharp; Comm-Care Corporation Nursing Scholarship--Lynette A. Flowers; Glenwood Regional Auxiliary Scholarship (Nursing)--Lisa R. Welch; Dr. Benn Cobb Memorial Nursing Award--Erin A. Bodie; St. Francis Auxiliary Scholarship (Nursing)--Meredith S. Rogers and Christy B. May.

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.