Archived News | Return to News Center

April 26, 2002

ULM Outstanding Faculty Honored By Alumni Association At Banquet

The University of Louisiana at Monroe Alumni Association honored faculty excellence at its annual Faculty Honors Banquet held Friday evening, April 26, at the Monroe Civic Center Conference Center. The event culminates a week-long series of activities designed to showcase the accomplishments of outstanding members of the faculty.

Seven professors, one from each of ULM's Colleges, were selected as ULM's Outstanding Professors for 2002 and received awards at Friday's event. Each recipient received a plaque and an honorarium of $1,500 presented on behalf of ULM alumni by Ms. Judy Zaunbrecher, President of the ULM Alumni Association.

ULM President James Cofer noted that all of the professors selected this year had common characteristics. "It is interesting to note that each is honored for having a caring attitude toward students both currently enrolled and former; a significant published body of research in a particular area of study; and a cooperative, helpful demeanor among colleagues," said Cofer. "Truly these seven individuals reflect the very best among a superb faculty at our University. I have found in the brief time that I have been associated with ULM that academic excellence permeates our campus. These Outstanding Professors for 2002 are the embodiment of that tradition of excellence."

Representing the College of Allied Health and Rehabilitation Professions was Dr. Michael K. Ramsey, Professor of Clinical Laboratory Science. Dr. Ramsey, described by colleagues as "the consummate multi-tasker", is an internationally respected researcher in microbiology and micro-organisms. His expertise is utilized not only in ULM laboratories and classrooms, but also at Barksdale Air Force Base where Ramsey, an officer in the Air Force Reserves, spends many weekends involved in research in preparation for possible biological warfare. He received the PhD from North Texas State University in 1984 and joined the ULM faculty in 1984.

Representing the College of Business Administration was Dr. Ronald L. Berry, Associate Professor of Computer Information Systems and Entergy Endowed Professor. Dr. Berry was described as "a superior teacher, a creative researcher, a devoted student advisor, and a relentless seeker of grant funding" by his colleagues. Dr. Berry is Head of the Computer Information Systems Department at ULM and has helped attract significant grant funding to ULM's College of Business Administration. He received the DBA from Mississippi State University in 1995 and joined the ULM faculty in 1995.

Representing the College of Education and Human Development was Dr. Otis K. Lovette, Professor of Instructional Leadership and Counseling. A veteran of nearly forty years as a professional educator, Dr. Lovette was commended for a distinguished career that has included work as a science teacher, a secondary principal, a superintendent of schools, and as a university professor. His student evaluations are in the top 5% of the College every year, clearly indicating his success as a teacher. He received the EdD from Oklahoma State University in 1973 and joined the ULM faculty in 1994.

Representing the College of Liberal Arts was Dr. Terry L. Jones, Professor of History and Graduate Coordinator. Dr. Jones is considered one of the most prolific published scholars within the College and is a specialist on the American Civil War. With three books already in print, Dr. Jones has two more scheduled for release later this year. His most recent published work, Campbell Brown's Civil War: With Ewell and the Army of Northern Virginia, has been nominated for the 2002 Lincoln Prize. He received the PhD in History from Texas A&M University in 1983 and joined the ULM faculty in 1991.

Representing the College of Nursing was Ms. Linda Reid, Assistant Professor of Nursing and Sister Jerome Crowley Endowed Professor. Ms. Reid was cited for her incorporation of technology into her classroom presentations for student nurses as well as her dedication to her students. Reid was described as a "creative clinical mentor and enthusiastic classroom instructor" who constantly seeks new and innovative ways to deliver knowledge to her students. She received the MSN in Nursing from Northwestern State University in 1993 and joined the ULM faculty in 1998.

Representing the College of Pharmacy was Dr. W. Greg Leader, Pharm. D., and Associate Professor of Clinical Pharmacy Practice. Dr. Leader has played a pivotal role in the development of ULM's Pharm. D. curriculum. He has been cited for his innovative design of the Pharmacotherapy Forum that provides students an opportunity in which they present topics to their peers and defend their synthesis of current scientific literature ­ skills essential when they graduate and become integral members of a healthcare team. Dr. Leader serves as Head of the Department of Clinical and Administrative Sciences and since 1999 has been responsible for nearly $5m in grants and contracts to ULM. He received the Pharm.D. from The University of Kentucky in 1991 and joined the ULM faculty in 1999.


Representing the College of Pure and Applied Sciences was Dr. Bruce Olberding, Assistant Professor of Mathematics and Physics. Dr. Olberding has been instrumental in the development of ULM's Honors Program and serves as team leader of one of four Louisiana teams funded by the National Science Foundation to establish innovative web-based lesson plans and projects for mathematics instruction. He received the Ph.D. in Mathematics from Wesleyan University in May 1996 and joined the ULM faculty in September 1997.

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.