Archived News | Return to News Center

May 2, 2002

ULM Student Government Association Holds Awards Banquet

The Student Government Association at the University of Louisiana at Monroe held its annual awards banquet May 1.

The new SGA officers for 2002-2003 were introduced. Serving will be Charlie Cheatham, president; Kayla Haltom, vice president; Jessica Holliday, secretary; and Jesse Hartle, treasurer. Outgoing 2001-2002 officers recognized were Michael Gray, president; Tim Bush, vice president; Jessica Holliday, secretary; and Sharonda Williams, treasurer.

Other awards presented were ULM Woman of the Year, Marsha Fannin; ULM Man of the Year, Nicholas Vadrine; ULM Organization of the Year, Pi Kappa Alpha Fraternity; SGA Award of Excellence to an Outstanding Faculty or Staff, Dr. Mahmoud Saffari; Best New SGA Senators, Evan Earl, Jennifer Henry and Kina Reed; SGA Executive of the Year, Michael Gray.

SGA Golden Arrow Award recipients include Evan Earl, Kayla Haltom, Jesse Hartle, Antonio Johnson, Ivona Jukic and Kina Reed; SGA Veteran Award recipients are Tim Bush, Kayla Haltom and Jessica Holliday; Melvin Rambin Backbone Award, Michael Gray and Jesse Hartle; Nick Lassiter Outstanding Department Director, Larry Cook; and the Garland Shell Award to Outstanding Alumni, Chip Lyman.

Also recognized were SGA Department Directors Larry Cook, Research and Judicial Affairs; Charlie Cheatham, Campus Projects and Beautification; Karlous Thomas, Student Life and Academic Enhancement; and Laura Sloan, Promotions; and Outstanding SGA Department Members Jesse Hartle, Research and Judicial Affairs; Antonio Johnson, Campus Projects and Beautification; Kina Reed, Student Life and Academic Enhancement; and Jennifer Henry, Promotions.

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.