Archived News | Return to News Center

May 24, 2002

ULM Students Honored For Academic Achievements

The University of Louisiana at Monroe recognized outstanding students recently at the Academic Honors Convocation held in the Conference Center of the ULM Library.

Students receiving honors in the College of Allied Health and Rehabilitation Professions were Leslie Renee Williams, Louisiana Dental Hygienist's Association Outstanding Student Award; Laurie Lee Hanson, NSSLHA Student Honors Award for 2002; Michael Daniel Grayson, Mallinckrodt Award for Excellence; and Miriam Adams, Michael Grayson, Sage McDonald, Grace Phillips, Casey Robinson and Kristen Smith, Alpha Eta Honor Society for Allied Health.

Students receiving honors in the College of Education and Human Development were Heather Jane Gormanous, Ada Bess Hart Memorial Scholarship; Benjamin L. Cheek and Heather Jane Gormanous, A.S. Huffman Award; William Anthony Coker, Excellence in Psychology; Amy Mason, Alpha Delta Kappa Alpha Gamma Chapter Award; Stephanie Lee, Alpha Delta Kappa Alpha Chapter Award; Doris Janette Williams, Delta Kappa Gamma Oneita Tillman Award; and Laurie Tannehill, Delta Kappa Gamma Alpha Nu Chapter Award.

Students receiving honors in the College of Liberal Arts were Jessica Head and Julian Floyd, Beverly Jean Marvin Memorial Art Award; Victoria Isabell Aiken, McKneely Scholarship; Salifou Moumouni, French for International Business; Nadine Flanagan, Yvonne Capps, Jayme Smith, Phoebe M.J.Phillips, Natalie Hendrix, Mayra Celina Cordova, Benjamin Adkins, Ida Gaines, Kevin Oliver, Bonnie Tindall and Stephanie Hill, Spanish for International Business; Phoebe Phillips, Gabriela Mistral Award; April C. Williamson, Brian Gregory Memorial Scholarship; Seau Yun Choo, Phi Alpha Theta Epsilon Tau Chapter-Brian Gregory Graduate History Award; Jill B. Boudreaux, Phi Alpha Theta Epsilon Tau Chapter-Dr. Thomas F. Stricklin History Award for Service; Ivona Jukic, Phi Alpha Theta Epsilon Tau Chapter-Dr. Thomas F. Stricklin History Award for Scholarship; and April C. Williamson, Winton R. Mizell Memorial Scholarship Award.

Students receiving honors in the College of Nursing were Lauren Ellis, Carolyn Welch Free, Shonda O'Shay Thomas and Amy Strickland Brooks, Carol Price Memorial Scholarship; Katherine D. Richardson, Helen Cannon Memorial Scholarship; Daniel James Twist and Kristy N. Dunn, Mary Davidson Memorial Scholarship; and Stephanie James Shields, Mauri Anne Hancock Memorial Scholarship.

Students receiving honors in the College of Pharmacy were Kartik Shankar, Departmental Research Achievement Award: Toxicology; Tamika Blake May, Departmental Research Achievement Award: Clinical and Administrative Science; Harish Parihar, Departmental Research Achievement Award: Basic Pharmaceutical Science; Daphne May Primeaux and Janeca Nicole Foster, Merck and Company First Professional Year Student Award; Rebecca Eileen Flynn, History of Pharmacy Award; Kerri Sue Baggett McIntyre, American Society of Health-System Pharmacists Student Leadership Award; Sarah Frances Williamson, Surgeon General's Award for Excellence in Public Health; Tommy Lane Daniels, McKesson Award and the American Pharmaceutical Association Award; Keri Lynn Miller, Perrigo Excellence in Nonperscription Medication Studies Award; Laney Triche, College of Pharmacy Faculty
Scholastic Recognition Award; John Floyd Taylor, International Paper Paracelsus Award; Adam Joseph Marchand, International Paper Orfila Award; Jeffrey O'Neal White, API Custer Primos Award; and Stacey Renee Allison, Kappa Epsilon Scholastic Award.

Students receiving honors in the College of Pure and Applied Sciences were Joseph N. Mansour, Senior Computer Science Award; Rachel Michelle Childress, Robert L. Holt Scholarship for Excellence in Chemistry; Chamika Manori Wanspura, Outstanding Graduate Student in Chemistry; Logan Matthew Atkins, Chemical Rubber Company Outstanding Freshman Chemistry Student; Matthew Bartley Williams, Lewis C. Slater Service Award; Jason Lynn Simpson, Frances Baldwin Scholarship; Richard Alan Morgan, W.A. Tarr Award; and Casey Stella, Senior Mathematics Award.

Receiving Athletic Awards were Miranda Hasley and Jaime Estrada, George T. Walker Senior Award; and John Winchester and Courtney Chapman,
Preston Juvenal Freshman Award.

Students in the ULM Honors Program receiving awards were Audrey Antee, Brettie C. Chelette Memorial Scholarship; Bailey McGaha, Angela Hillman, Phoebe Williams and Audrey Antee, George and Ruth Smith Memorial Honors Scholarship; and Amanda Jane Feldhaus, Michael and Tammy Parker Scholarship.

Also receiving awards were Julia Barnhill, Arlen Zander British Studies Scholarship Award; and Jamie Perry, Alpha Lambda Delta Outstanding
Graduating Senior Award.

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.