Archived News | Return to News Center

November 26, 2002

ULM names fifty students to "Who's Who"

Fifty University of Louisiana at Monroe students have been named to the 2003 edition of Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges. These seniors are recognized for being national outstanding campus leaders.

A campus selection committee and editors of the annual directory made the selections. The award is based on academic achievement, service to the University and community, leadership in extracurricular activities, and potential for continued success.

Students were selected from more than 2,300 institutions of higher learning in all 50 states, the District of Columbia and several foreign countries. Outstanding students have been honored in the annual directory since it was first published in 1934.

Students selected from the College of Arts and Sciences and their majors and hometowns are Ashley Colleen Burkett, vocal performance; Courtney T. Joiner, criminal justice, Brian J. Lawton, biology/pre-med; and Melissa Wilson, music history/literature; all of Monroe; Ellen Deann Boyett, social work, and Brian P. Owens, vocal performance, both of Columbia; Angeleah Graham, agribusiness, Rayville; Catherine Alison Layfield, criminal justice, Jonesboro; Pamela L. Lewis, biology/pre-med, St. Francisville; Misty Renee McCurry, biology, Haynesville; Lee Robertson, atmospheric sciences, Baton Rouge; Katie Roussy, atmospheric sciences, Covington; Daniel Strickland, mass communications, Anacoco; Romeeka Taylor, legal studies, Sicily Island; Brandon K. Verrett, music theory and composition, Ruston; Heather Renee Whitney, agribusiness, Oak Grove; Jerry Edward Benoit, atmospheric sciences, and Amy Vaughn, atmospheric sciences, both of Lafayette; and Virginia Marie Buller, agribusiness, Bunkie.

Students selected from the College of Business Administration and their majors and hometowns are Kristal Lynn Gentry, marketing, Monroe; Charles Davidson, marketing, West Monroe; Thomas Aaron Finley, computer information systems, Calhoun; Celeste Holley, business management, Epps; Nicholas Drew Vidrine, accounting, Delhi; Mignon Begnaud, computer information systems, Cecilia; David M. Yellott, accounting, Lake Charles; Darrell Brew, marketing, Houston, Texas; and Kelly Bucewicz, marketing, Jacksonville, Fla.

Students selected from the College of Education and Human Development and their majors and hometowns are Anya Morris, elementary education early childhood, Monroe; Shane Thomas Peace, psychology, West Monroe; Catherine D. Bonner, psychology, Winnsboro; Alana Brooke Fortson, elementary education, Jena; Lawrence Lashley, music education, Shreveport; Nathan Randall, music education, Pineville; and Benji Jacob Jones, physical education-exercise science, Gonzales.

Students selected from the College of Health Sciences and their majors and hometowns are Amanda J. Feldhaus, toxicology, history and Spanish, Monroe; Claire A. Beck, nursing, West Monroe; Anne Powell, nursing, Shreveport; Ashley Watts, dental hygiene, Keithville; Danielle Franklin, radiologic technology, Bastrop; Kayla Eppinette, occupational therapy, Rayville; Denton W. Porter, Jr., pharmacy, Archibald; J. Derek Johnson, clinical laboratory science, Jonesville; Jeannie Ruth McCarthey, nursing, Jena; Ashley P. Cathcart, pharmacy, Benton; Selina Chee, pharmacy, Baton Rouge; Jan Marie Guidry, pharmacy, Eunice; Beth D. McElwee, nursing, Ville Platte; Daniel Matthew Riche, pharmacy, Arabi; and Hanh T. Nguyen, pharmacy, Chalmette.

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.