Archived News | Return to News Center

Oct. 4, 2002

ULM Yearbook Wins Awards

The 2002 Chacahoula, the student yearbook at the University of Louisiana at Monroe, earned 11 awards in yearbook writing, photography and design at the Southwest Journalism Congress convention in Baton Rouge recently.

"Again, it is with great appreciation to the students of ULM that I accept these awards," said Daniel Strickland, editor in chief of the yearbook. In July the Chacahoula was also named second place in best of show in a national yearbook competition in Washington, D.C.

"The Chacahoula fared extremely well at this competition, which included such powerhouse universities as the University of Texas, Southern Methodist University, University of North Texas and LSU," said Jarrett Reeves, Student Publications advisor.

"What we have learned from last year's financial crisis in Student Publications is that it takes an investment to develop our student talent," Reeves said. "The ULM student body's vote for an increase in Student Publications fees this spring allowed our students and their publications to be highly competitive in national college mass communications programs."

Students and award received are: Best Section Design, first place, Daniel Strickland, editor in chief, Anacoco mass communications senior; Best Introductory Copy, first place, Strickland; Best Theme Development, third place, Strickland; Best Spread Design, third place, Strickland; Best Campus Life Copy, third place, Nellie Garrett, Chacahoula writer, St. Louis, Mo., mass communications senior; Best Sports Copy, third place, Garrett; Best Special Events Copy, third place, Julie McClure, Chacahoula writer, Port Gibson, Miss., toxicology senior; Best Campus Life Photo, second place, Michael Cossey, contributing photographer, Monticello, Ark., mass communications senior; Best Overall Book Design, third place, Strickland; Best Black and White Photo, third place, Kourtney Coleman, Chacahoula photo editor, New Orleans mass communications senior; and Best Story Package, second place, Strickland, Garret and Coleman.

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.