Archived News | Return to News Center

Aug. 21, 2003

ULM Pike Chapter Brings Home 16th Consecutive "Chapter of Excellence Award"

A delegation from ULM's Eta Omicron Chapter of the Pi Kappa Alpha "Pike" Fraternity recently returned from the annual International Leadership Conference held in Memphis, Tenn. Student chapter president Adam Cossey, vice-president Ben Bickham, and chapter advisor Tommy Walpole, attended the event. ULM's Pike chapter was one of forty-four chapters (Pike has 216 chapters) to receive a Chapter of Excellence Award. The Chapter Excellence Award is presented to chapters who demonstrate overall excellence in all areas of the fraternity. This was the sixteenth consecutive excellence award for ULM. The Alumni Relations and Community Service Programs were chosen as the best in the fraternity. This was the second consecutive year for ULM to win the Community Service Volunteer Award. The volunteer award is given to the Pike chapter whose members had the highest number of hours volunteered per man to community service projects last year. ULM's pike chapter was one of only five chapters to participate in the Phi Phi Kappa Alpha Club at the 100 percent level meaning each undergraduate member donated $20 last year to Pi Kappa Alpha's Educational Foundation. Another award won was the International Work Day participation award. ULM's pike's have participated in this program every year of its existence. Walpole was named as a finalist for the Advisor of the Year award.
The group's Alumni Association won its sixth consecutive William R. Nester Award recognizing it as the fraternity's most outstanding Alumni Association. This is the 7th time in the last 10 years that our association has been named as Pi Kappa
Alpha's best. The chapter President Adam Cossey, was a finalist for the position of Undergraduate Vice-President for the Supreme Council. Our Supreme Council chooses 2 undergraduates (almost always seniors) each year to serve one-year terms on the Supreme Council. Thirty brothers from throughout our 216 chapters submitted applications and five were named finalists. Adam was the only junior chosen as a finalist. The Supreme
Council is the International Governing body of Pi Kappa Alpha and finally, Eta Omicron Chapter won its fifth consecutive Robert A. Smythe Award (its 10th in the last 12 years) recognizing it as the "best of the best" in all of Pi Kappa Alpha. Our streak of five consecutive wins is the longest current streak in Pi Kappa Alpha (tied with one other chapter).

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.