Archived News | Return to News Center

March 26, 2004

Division of Arts Announces Winners of Competition

The Division of Art at the University of Louisiana at Monroe has announced the winners of the 11th Annual Junior-Senior High School Art Competition, currently on view at the university Bry Art Gallery.

Receiving the Gretchen Masur Dean Best of Show Award was Lindsay Jones of Neville High School with an oil on canvas self-portrait titled "This is Me".

The new Barry Darling-Jerry Wilson Alumni Award of Excellence was presented to Michael Ross of Neville High School with an oil on canvas portrait titled "Candy".

Beverly Jean Marvin Art Supply Scholarships to students (if they attend ULM next year) were presented to Neville students Lindsay Jones, Xabrianne Gardner, Joshua Warner and Blair Medley, and Ouachita Parish High School student Cedric Morrison.

Division of Art Merit Awards of $50, along with gift certificates from Imagemax, were presented to Tony Moomau of West Ouachita High School, Cole Napper of Neville High School and Margaret Rountree of Cedar Creek High School.

Other students with works accepted in this competition were Blair Medley, Lorraine Henley, Mary Barham, Stephen Robinson, Jessica Jenkins and Meredith Addison from Karen Medley's classes at Neville High School; Josh Edwards from Annice Miller's class at Sterlington High School; Bill Dye, Emily Gullat, Brandon Mosley, and Daniel Stephenson from Karen Sharp's classes at Ouachita Christian School; Chad Burns and Danielle Bennett from Brenda Rowan's classes at Ouachita Parish High School; Allison Dollar from Mary Lou Rountree's class at Cedar Creek High School; and Jamison Harvey, Steven Worster, Bethany Raybourn and Rebekah Brode of Michelle Olinde's classes at West Ouachita High School.

Junior and senior high school students from Ouachita and surrounding parishes were eligible to submit in competition recent works of art in any studio medium. A panel of two ULM faculty members and one area artist reviewed all entries and curated an exhibition of what they deemed to be the more superior entries.

A reception was held in the gallery on March 19th, sponsored by Kappa Pi, honorary art fraternity at the university. High school students accepted into the competition, their parents, relatives and friends were in attendance for the announcement of the award-winning art works by benefactor Gretchen Masur Dean, Dean Carlos Fandal and sculptor Cliff Tresner.

The 11th Annual Competition will be on view through April 1. Bry Art Gallery is open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.