Archived News | Return to News Center

May 19, 2004

Clinical Laboratory Science Students Initiated Into Lambda Tau at ULM

The Beta Delta Chapter of Lambda Tau, a national medical

technology honor society at the University of Louisiana at Monroe, held its

annual dinner meeting and induction ceremony recently in the Conference

Center of the ULM Library.

The purposes of Lambda Tau honor society are to develop a spirit

of cooperation and unity among students entering any of the fields

encompassed by laboratory technology; to stimulate a higher ideal for

scholastic effort to encourage research and to help develop the professional

character of the work itself; to interest other students in these fields; to

determine and make known the requirements of hospitals and other

institutions offering training approved by the National Accrediting Agency

for Clinical Laboratory Sciences; and to become better acquainted with

medical biology and the workers in these fields in order to receive the

benefit of mutual discussions and associations with fellows of common


To be eligible for membership an individual must be enrolled in

a college or university in clinical laboratory science, have earned two full

semesters of college credit, and have a grade point average of 2.8 or


Clinical laboratory science majors who were inducted and their

hometowns are Catherine Alesich, Kimberly Barrett and Pratima Kumari, all of

Monroe; Lisa Lowery, Brian McCarty, Crystal Powell and Cindy Savell, all of

West Monroe; Michelle Green of Calhoun; Callee Gwin of Rayville; and

Courtnei Gabriel of Shreveport.

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.