Archived News | Return to News Center

May 19, 2004

Student Nurses at ULM Receive Peer Awards

Students in the nursing program at the University of Louisiana at Monroe recently selected members of their class to receive the Nurse Peer Awards and Spirit of Nursing Awards for the 2003-2004 academic year. Awards were presented at the Student Awards Ceremony held recently.

Voted on by students in the nursing class, the Nurse Peer Award goes to the student that other students would hope to have care for them if they were ill. The Spirit of Nursing Award is given to the student who has been the most supportive, positive, encouraging and uplifting in their class.

For semester one the Peer Award went to Holly Ann Wood of DeRidder. The Spirit Award was given to Tiffany Nicole Thomas of Shreveport. For semester two the Peer Award went to Christopher Carl Walker of Monroe and Charlotte Ann Francois of West Monroe. The Spirit Award was given to Shanda Deanne Lewis of Monroe. For semester three the Peer Award went to Alice F. Kennedy of Rayville and Patricia McNease Rawles of Winnsboro. The Spirit Award was given to Dustin Daniel Gross of Calhoun. For semester four the Peer Award went to Germaine Denise Joseph of Monroe, Carla Dianne Gibson Hofler of West Monroe and Shaylene W. Henderson of Epps. The Spirit Award was given to Takeyshia Taiwon Johnson of Shreveport. This is the fourth time that Johnson has earned this award, earning it each semester that she has been in nursing school.

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.