Archived News | Return to News Center

May 13, 2005

ULM Communication Department Honors Student Achievement

Dr. Bette J. Kauffman, head of the University of Louisiana at Monroe department of communication, announced the 2004-2005 departmental student awards on May 6 at the annual "Picnic on the Bayou" at St. Thomas Episcopal Church.

Lambda Pi Eta honor fraternity Scholar of the Year: Tara Bouchie, speech major.

James A. Noe Scholarship: Rebecca Magee, mass communication major.

Mass Communication Service: Mercedes Ramcharan and Adam McDonald.

Outstanding Forensic Achievement: Isaac Henderson, mass communication major.

R.J. Bicker Excellence in Debate: Hanna Hammons, government major.

Speech Competition Excellence: Tara Bouchie, speech major.

First Year Competitor: Marcus Beckwith, mass communications major.

Journalism-Public Relations Excellence Scholarship: Ashley Adams.

Mass Communications Certificates of Merit: Jason Cryer, Sean Green, Fantazia Minix, Cole Prine, Dustin Swafford, Jeremy Tucker, Michelle Wokaty, Heather Amison, Jessica Gibson, Jill Schindler, Kenni Townley, Jeremy Tucker, Kamaria Wheeler and Kandace Wheeler.

Speech Certificates of Merit: Herman Houston, Kina Reed, Eveta Gambrah, Gina Worley and Angel McDaniel.

Outstanding Senior in Speech: Tara Bouchie.

Oustanding Senior in Mass Communication: Claxton Wactor.

Outstanding Graduate Students: Anne Raines and Xu Yanchen.

For this and other ULM news online visit While there, check out ULM's on-line calendar for all of ULM's upcoming events.

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.