Archived News | Return to News Center

April 13, 2006

Ninth Annual ULM Student Juried Competition Yields Prizes and Honors to Participating Artists

As the Bry Art Gallery at the University of Louisiana at Monroe continues to show the Ninth Annual ULM Student Juried Competition and Exhibition through May 4, winners and honors have been announced.

Currently enrolled art students were eligible to submit up to five entries in any studio medium for consideration. The art faculty jurored the entries and selected 46 works of art created by 22 students to be accepted into the exhibition.

Area professional artist Kirby Atan chose the major awards. Her selections were: the Gretchen Masur Dean Best of Show Cash Award to Brooke Foy for her clay, wood and steel freestanding sculpture "Self Portrait"; the Kirby Atan Alumni Cash Award to Lindsay Jones for a ceramic sculpture; and the Division of Art Faculty Cash Award to Brad New for an acrylic painting.

The awards judge also gave art supply Awards of Merit to Nikki Allbritton in printmaking, Adrian Gipson in printmaking, Sarah Kelly in both photography and printmaking, Stephanie Jordan in ceramic sculpture, Michele Smith in sculpture and Melissa Rogers in photography.

A number of disciplines within the Division of Art presented specialized prizes: the Graphic Design Award was given to Jimmy Hale, the Photography Award to both Michael Jordan and Michele Smith, and the Camille Jungman Art History Award to Brooke Foy.

The Art Faculty selected five students to receive Beverly Jean Marvin Scholarship Awards. Receiving these art supply stipends were Erica Hijazi, Stephanie Jordan, Brad New, Megan Rushing and Michele Smith.

The Northminster Church on Lamy Lane presented four one-person exhibitions in their narthex gallery this coming fall to Erica Hijazi, Stephanie Jordan, Sarah Kelly and Stephanie Smith.

Several administrative entities at the university have rented works from students to be displayed in their offices for one calendar year: President Cofer will display works by Kelly Fuller and Karen Robinson, Provost Richters will show works by Stephanie Jordan, the Campus Activity Board will present works by Kelly Fuller and Michael Jordan, and VAPA Director Keith White will offer works on view in the Biedenharn Recital Hall by Erica Hijazi and Karen Robinson.

Other ULM art students with works accepted into this competition are Samantha Allen, Caleb Clark, Joni Dollar, Nick Hutchinson, Adonis Johnson, Natalie Newton, and Patricia Thorne.

The Bry Art Gallery is open from 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Monday through Thursdays, and 8 a.m.-noon Fridays when the university is in session.

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.