Archived News | Return to News Center

September 28, 2006

Alumni association awards its finest

The ULM Alumni Association awarded its outstanding alumni during a brunch on Sept. 30 in the ULM Conference Center. The 2006 Homecoming Court, former homecoming kings and queens, former Miss ULM’s, past alumni association presidents and former Golden Arrow Award winners were also recognized during the brunch.

The Golden Arrow Award, established by the alumni association in 1981, recognizes alumni who have served the alumni association well, and it is the most prestigious award. This year’s recipient is Joe Farr, a Monroe native and 1975 College of Business graduate. Since 1998, Farr has served as a member, the vice president and president of the Board of Trustees for the ULM Foundation.

Farr, a Lifetime Member of the alumni association, epitomizes the Golden Arrow Award, said Keith Brown, executive director of alumni and community relations at ULM.

“His dedication to all aspects of university life, regardless of the endeavor, is truly outstanding. From his role as president of the ULM Foundation, to his membership on the mascot committee, to being a Lifetime Member of the alumni association, he’s been involved in every aspect of the university,” Brown said. “And that’s exactly what you want your alumni to be. He’s dedicated, creative, and he has an extremely positive outlook on what’s possible at ULM.”

Each year the alumni association also recognizes a ULM staff member who contributes significantly to the community and to the progress of the university. This year’s recipient is Camile Currier, who received a bachelor’s degree in health and physical education in 1973 and a master’s of education in administration and supervision of education in 1974. Currier, who has worked at ULM for over 30 years, is associate dean for Student Services and Judicial Affairs.

Some of Currier’s accomplishments at ULM include:

Currier also serves as the university liaison to Residential Life and supervises the Career Services, ULM Counseling Center, Recreational Services, Student Services and the ULM Natatorium.

He has served on numerous committees, boards and task forces and is affiliated with many organizations within the university, the state of Louisiana, and on a national level, including L Club, the Louisiana Collegiate Intramural-Recreational Sports Association, the National Association of Student Personnel Administrators, and the United Way of Northeast Louisiana.

The Lifetime Achievement Award, established last year, honors alumni and friends who have served ULM and the alumni association well. This year’s winner is Johnny Huntsman, who in 1967 established what he called the “only link in the world’s smallest pizza chain,” a tiny store across the street from ULM. The owner of the largest locally owned pizza chain in north Louisiana today, Huntsman has come a long way. During the first two years of running his business, he managed to also earn his master’s degree in health and physical education.

From posting “Go Warhawks” on Johnny’s Pizza House marquees and creating ULM displays in his stores, to funding scholarship endowments, to being a major sponsor of ULM Athletics, Huntsman does it all. He has remained an active member of the alumni association, Athletic Foundation, the Hoops Club, Baseball Coaches Committee, and the L Club. He is a longtime contributor to the ULM Annual Fund at the Associate Level and sponsored the alumni association’s inaugural Wine Over Water event last May.

The 2006 ULM Alumni Association Chapter of the Year Award recognizes an alumni association chapter’s outstanding support of ULM. This year’s winner is the Greater Washington D.C. chapter, which was formed in 2004 when ULM, LSU, Northwestern and the University of New Orleans combined their efforts and hosted a crawfish boil in the D.C. area for all alumni. In 2005, McNeese State University joined the coalition and last year Tulane became the sixth member. In 2006, the six universities served 6,000 pounds of crawfish to over 900 alumni and friends in Louisiana. Janis Hernandez, a 1974 graduate, president of the Washington D.C. Chapter, will travel to ULM to accept the award.

More about Farr:

He bought out his father’s insurance agency in 1981 and then merged with Jerry Thomas in 1983 to form the Thomas & Farr Agency. Farr’s community involvement includes serving as a member of the YMCA of Northeast Louisiana Board of Directors, the Monroe Youth Baseball Association Board, Monroe Homeownership Board, Monroe Chamber of Commerce Advisory Board. He has been active in the United Way for 12 years, and served as chairman in 2002. He is an active volunteer in the Boy Scouts and received the Silver Beaver Award in 2006, which is the highest award for volunteer services in that program. He was named Insurance Person of the Year in 2000 by the CPCU and National Association of Insurance Women and was also named the Outstanding Alumnus of the Year at Neville High School in 2000. He is a Lifetime Member of the National Rifle Association and is a member of the Louisiana Association of Business & Industry. He is treasurer of the Neville High School Alumni Association and currently an active member of the Rotary Club of Monroe.

Farr has been a member of the ULM Athletic Foundation Board of Directors. He is a Malone Stadium suite-holder and holds membership in the ULM Golf Team Partners and Baseball Coaches Committee. He holds Associate Level status as a contributor to the ULM Annual Fund and recently contributed towards the Clarke M. Williams Student Success Center project on campus.

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.