Archived News | Return to News Center

September 27, 2006

ULM Water Ski Team places first at ULM Bayou DeSiard Classic

The ULM Water Ski Team placed first overall in the 2006 Bayou DeSiard Classic held Sept. 23-24 at Bayou DeSiard with an overall team score of 5,670. The University of Louisiana at Lafayette placed second with 4,050 while the University of Texas came in at third with a score of 3,980.

Placing fourth was the University of Arkansas with an overall team score of 1,830; fifth was Texas State University with 1,745; 6th was Louisiana Tech with 1,285; seventh was Baylor University with 1,125; and eighth was Tarleton State University with 920.

ULM placed first across the board in slalom, tricks and jumping. ULL placed second in slalom and jumping and third in tricks. UT placed second in tricks and third in slalom and jumping.

“It was a super day and everyone had a lot of fun. We enjoyed a strong community attendance along with a large group of students, faculty and staff that came out and supported this event, said Treina Landrum, director of Recreational Services and ULM Water Ski Team coach. “We are extremely proud of our team and ULM is fortunate to have such a wonderful group of world-class athletes. The ULM Water Ski Team appreciates the support of the ULM students as well as our area business sponsors.”

Members of the ULM women’s team are:

Members of the ULM men’s team are: Adding to the overall enjoyment of the event was spectacular announcing by three of the ULM Water Ski Team members Carly Clifton, Tyler Boyd and Alexei Zharnasek and a visit by Ace, the new ULM Mascot.

The ULM Water Ski Team will travel to the Regional Tournament on Sept. 30 in Lafayette and to the National Championship Tournament in Sacramento, Calif., in Oct. 10.

The ULM Water Ski Team competes in the NCWSA (National Collegiate Water Ski Association) South Central Region. Other schools competing in this conference include: University of Louisiana at Lafayette, Baylor University, University of Texas, Louisiana Tech, Texas State University, Stephen F. Austin University, University of Arkansas, University of Oklahoma, Texas Tech University and Tarleton State University.

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.