Archived News | Return to News Center

April 26, 2007

Clinical laboratory science faculty and staff win several prominent awards

ULM’s Department of Clinical Laboratory Science received several student and faculty awards during the Louisiana Society for Clinical Laboratory Science’s annual state meeting in Shreveport April 17 – 20.

The theme for the meeting was “Laboratory Incredibles: Medical Heroes.” During the annual awards banquet, ULM students and faculty received their honors.

John Whetstone, a senior from Collinston, won the Student of the Year award and the Keys to the Future award.

Susan Williamson won the student paper award in the clinical hematology category for “Diamond Blackfan Anemia – A Case Study on Amber Howe.” Whetstone won in the clinical immunology category for “Fragile X Syndrome.” Kimberly Barrett won in the clinical microbiology category for “Bioterrorism.”

Williamson, a senior from Tallulah, and Barrett, a senior from Monroe, are current interns at St. Francis Medical Center. Whetstone is an intern at St. Vincent’s Medical Center in Jacksonville, Fla.

Melanie Chapman and Debbie Wisenor won the Omicron Sigma Presidential Service Award. Wisenor also received the 2007 LSCLS Member of the Year Award.

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.