Archived News | Return to News Center

May 17, 2007

College of Arts and Sciences recognizes outstanding students at awards convocation

The University of Louisiana at Monroe College of Arts and Sciences held its annual Awards Convocation recognizing outstanding students Thursday, April 19 at 5 p.m. in the Biedenharn Recital Hall.
Mark Arant, interim dean, issued the welcome and the introduction of the guest speaker, Carlos Fandal, a ULM professor of foreign languages and the College’s first dean.
Fandal is a native of Slidell and earned his Ph.D. at LSU in romance languages, specializing in French Renaissance literature. He completed additional studies at the University of North Carolina, the Université Paul Valéry, the Centre International de Recherches d’Echanges et de Coopération de la Caraïbe et l’Amérique Latine-Martinique, and the American Academy in Rome. Fandal began his ULM career in 1966, teaching French, Latin and Spanish, and became the first head of the department of foreign languages. In 1993, he became dean of the College of Liberal Arts, and in 2002 became dean of ULM’s College of Arts and Sciences.
Departmental Outstanding Seniors certificates were presented to:

Outstanding Students certificates were awarded in agriculture
to: Amanda Chavers of Swartz, Josh Copes of Tallulah, Jill Givens of Winnsboro, Kyle Holloway of Delhi, and Leslie Maxwell of Monroe.
Outstanding Students in Biology are:

The Outstanding Students in Chemistry
are: Hannah Baer of Monroe, Christopher Bauman of Covington, Brittany Lee of Lakewood, Colo., Jacob Myers of Crowley, and Victor Schutz of Monroe.
Jennifer Bagbey of Lake Providence received the Outstanding Student certificate in communication.
Outstanding Students in criminal justice are:

The Outstanding Students in English are:

Melissa Johnson of Monroe and Whitney Walker of Monroe received the Outstanding Student certificates for family and consumer sciences.
Outstanding Students in foreign languages are: Heather Black of Monroe, Kristi Lang of Houston, Karla Lowery of Monroe, Lisa Peterson of Monroe, Victoria Teague of Oak Grove, and April Williamson of Monroe.
The Outstanding Students in general studies are: Lisa Nelms of West Monroe, David Newton of Haughton, Cassandra Olin of Monroe, and Marylou Soltesz of Monroe.
Sunny Brown of Baton Rouge, Jacob Darby of Pride, Amber Heffner of Ferriday, Ashley Jones of Franklinton, Donald Jones of Slidell, Stephanie Mullins of Mandeville, and Matt Williams of Atlanta, Ga. received the Outstanding Student certificates for geosciences.
In gerontology/sociology and political science, Outstanding Student certificates were received by: Christopher Byrd of Monroe, Pamela Byrd of Monroe, Rob Carroll of New Castle, Pa., Carly Clifton of Van Wert, Ohio, Megan Harris of Scott, Jessica Lenard of West Monroe, Christa McKee of West Monroe, Cindy Phu of Monroe, and Dale Willson of Port Orchard, Wash.
Outstanding Students in history
are: J. Hewitt Hall of Monroe, Anthony Hutchins of Cedar Hill, Texas, Stephanie Markland of West Monroe, and John Salter of Farmerville.
The Outstanding Students in social work are: Desiree Bridges of Lafayette, Lydia Head of Tioga, Lacey Herring of Lake Providence, Mary Catherine Murphy of Grayson, and Olivia Wilburn of Monroe.
In visual and performing arts, Outstanding Students in art are:

The music students receiving Outstanding Student certificates are: Shelby McCarty of West Monroe, Adavion Wayne of Shreveport and Matthew Witherow of Pollock.

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.