Archived News | Return to News Center

October 29, 2007

ULM’s 2007 Hall of Distinction Award to be presented at Envision Nov. 15

The University of Louisiana at Monroe will proudly recognize the Emy-Lou Biedenharn Foundation as the recipient of the 2007 Hall of Distinction Award at Envision ULM Thursday, Nov. 15, beginning at 6 p.m. at the Monroe Civic Center.

As ULM’s most prestigious award, the Hall of Distinction recognizes those who have honored the university through a lifetime of distinction and/or exemplary service. The award’s announcement is a highlight of the annual Envision ULM event. All supporters, family and friends are welcome.

ULM President James Cofer praised the philanthropy of this year’s award winner. “The University of Louisiana at Monroe is extremely fortunate to have such a generous and visionary patron as the Emy-Lou Biedenharn Foundation. The Foundation’s support directly enriches the educational, cultural, and humanitarian impact that ULM has, especially to the regional community. The good things that come out of this university are possible due to such generosity and civic-mindedness - the Emy-Lou Biedenharn Foundation is the perfect addition to the ULM Hall of Distinction.”

The Emy-Lou Biedenharn Foundation is one of the university's most generous benefactors, having established several eminent scholar endowments and a memorial scholarship endowment, as well as providing continued support of the ULM Foundation's annual fund.

Murray Biedenharn, President of the Executive Board of the Emy-Lou Biedenharn Foundation, has served on the ULM Foundation Board of Trustees since 1992. Bishop Johnston, husband of Jody Biedenharn Johnston, also currently serves on the ULM Foundation Board of Trustees.

When considering the selection of the Hall of Distinction recipient, many factors are considered, including the commitment of time, talents and treasure to the university and the community.

The ULM Hall of Distinction Award was established in 2004, with Kitty DeGree being the inaugural winner. ULM has also recognized these other prestigious winners to date: 2005 - The Thomas H. and Mayme P. Scott Foundation; 2006– Nelson D. and Bennie Hughes Abell.

This year’s reception begins at 6 p.m., with dinner following at 6:30 p.m. Attendance cost is $30 per person or $240 per table of eight.

The ticket deadline is Nov. 9. For ticket information, call (318) 342-5440 or

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.