Archived News | Return to News Center

October 22, 2007

ULM Alumni Association announces Golden Arrow Award winner and other awards

The University of Louisiana at Monroe Alumni Association awarded its highest honor, The Golden Arrow Award, and several others, including the newly-named George T. Walker Lifetime Achievement Award, at the ULM Alumni Awards Brunch and Homecoming Presentation, Oct. 20 at the ULM Conference Center.

The Golden Arrow Award, established by the alumni association in 1981, recognizes alumni who have served the alumni association well. This year's winner, Judy Zaunbrecher ('69), epitomizes the award, said Keith Brown, executive director of alumni and community relations at ULM.

Judy helped re-start the Acadiana Alumni Chapter in the early 90s, she served as Acadiana Chapter President, vice president of the Alumni Board and president of the NLU Alumni Association, and she helped sponsor Evening at ULM Events in the Acadiana area.

"Judy has spent countless time, energy, and dollars in support of ULM," Brown said. "She has attended alumni events in Lafayette and Nashville, helped ULM in its recruitment efforts in the Lafayette area, served in multiple volunteer capacities for the Alumni Association and Foundation, and continues to ask what she can do for ULM. She is most deserving of this award."

This year's award winner credits much of her professional success—Judy and her husband recently opened Amber Falls Winery & Cellars in Lewis County, Tenn.—to her education at ULM.

"From my first year until my graduation, I changed from a person who wasn't willing to step out of the box into someone who is eager to take on new challenges, knowing I will succeed. I have that confidence, thanks to my experiences at ULM," she said in a recent edition of the ULM Magazine.

Also at the brunch, the alumni association announced the winner of the newly-named George T. Walker Lifetime Achievement Award. Founded two years ago, this award is given to those who have distinguished themselves through professional and personal achievement and who have served the university and the alumni association well over several years. The Alumni Association Board unanimously voted to name the award after former president Walker because of the "incredible impact he had on the university," said Tom Walpole, associate director of alumni relations.

This year’s lifetime achievement winner is former president Walker, announced Billy Laird, executive director of the L Club.

Laird said, “For almost 20 years, George Walker’s talent and leadership abilities translated into new buildings, expansion to the east side of the bayou, growth in every area, accredited programs, creation of the scholarship foundation, and even the bold move to encourage a young Billy Laird to ‘expand the alumni reach to those far away places such as Dallas, Texas.’ Dr. Walker, if all of us affiliated with ULM—past, present, and future—could just come close to what you’ve done for our university, it would indeed be an accomplishment of a lifetime.”

Each year the ULM Alumni Association recognizes a ULM staff member, who through his or her efforts, contributes significantly to the community and to the stature of the university. This year’s winner of the ULM Service Award is Martha J. Burns Anderson, announced Keith Brown, ULM director of alumni and community relations. Now the assistant deans of students, Anderson, Ed.D, began her career as director of continuing education at ULM Sept. 1, 1976.

“There isn’t enough time to run down the list of all that Martha has done for ULM and for our community, but I do want to mention just a few: She is the Executive Director of the National Motar Board, a member of the Junior League, a Job Link Program Coordinator, the coordinator of ULM’s British Studies Program, the chairperson of the Presidential Lyceum Series Committee, SGA advisor and advisor of the National Honor Society Alpha Lambda Delta ... She represents all of us so well, and in so many ways,” Brown said.

The alumni association also announced the 2007 ULM Alumni Association Chapter of the Year: The Ouachita Parish Chapter of the ULM Alumni Association. Last year, the Ouachita Chapter hosted the Alumni Shrimp Boil, La Louisianne Crawfish boil, and the second (and very successful) Wine Over Water, which benefited scholarships. Tania Simpson, chapter president, accepted the award.

The 2007 Homecoming Court, former homecoming kings and queens, former Miss ULMs, past alumni association presidents and former Golden Arrow Award winners were also recognized.

The brunch was co-sponsored by the Student Government Association. For more information, contact Nancy Davis at (318) 342-5420 or e-mail her at

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.