Archived News | Return to News Center

April 8, 2009

ULM president and others appointed to serve on new honorary board

University of Louisiana at Monroe President James E. Cofer joins a distinguished list of members appointed to a new honorary board.

Cofer and 19 other prominent community, business and political leaders from across the state who have agreed to serve as honorary board members of the Friends of Black Bayou Lake National Wildlife Refuge.

Their help is needed to “expand support beyond the boundaries of the Refuge,” according to Wallace Hardy, president of the Friends of Black Bayou.

ULM Biology Professor Emeritus Neil Douglas also agreed to serve on the honorary board, said Hardy. Douglas is one of the founders of ULM’s Natural History Museum, which has partnered with the Refuge on several educational projects.

Hardy said the university has played an essential role in supporting the Friends of Black Bayou since its inception. ULM faculty members Bob Eisenstadt and Ann Bloxom Smith have served as presidents of the Friends of Black Bayou in years past and both continue as officers.

The Refuge is also a haven for a variety of ongoing scientific research by ULM students and faculty, and many faculty members have been active members of FoBB over the 13 years of its existence. Environmental education has always been one of the central goals of the organization.

The list of honorary board members is as follows:

• Robert Barham – Secretary, Louisiana Wildlife & Fisheries

• Keith Ouchley, Ph.D. – Executive Director, Louisiana Nature Conservancy

• Randy Lanctot – Executive Director, Louisiana Wildlife Federation

• Dr. James Cofer – President, ULM

• Dr. Bob Webber – Superintendent, Ouachita Parish Schools

• Louisiana State Senator Mike Walsworth

• Louisiana State Representative Frank Hoffmann

• Louisiana State Representative Kay Katz

• Royce Toney – Sheriff, Ouachita Parish

• Jamie Mayo – Mayor, City of Monroe

• Dave Norris – Mayor, City of West Monroe

• Charles Jackson, C.P.A. – Ouachita Parish Police Jury

• Dr. Mike Zambie – Civic Leader and President, ULM Natural History Museum

• Dr. John Cooksey – Civic Leader, Former U.S. Representative

• Harvey Perry – CenturyTel Board of Directors, Louisiana Nature Conservancy Board

• John Schween – Chief Executive Officer, Breck Construction, Civic Leader

• Harris Brown – CEO Brownland Corp.; President, Association Of Levee Boards of LA

• Kelby Ouchley – U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Retired

• Alana Cooper – Executive Director, Monroe/West Monroe Convention & Visitors Bureau

• Dr. Neal Douglas – ULM Natural History Museum, Biology Professor Emeritus

Black Bayou Lake National Wildlife Refuge provides a variety of habitat for migratory waterfowl and other wildlife species. The 4,500-acre Refuge, located just north of Monroe, includes a 1,600-acre lake studded with bald cypress and tupelo trees, and is surrounded by swamps that graduate into bottomland hardwoods and then into upland mixed pine/hardwoods.

The Refuge is open to the public, without charge, during daylight hours 365 days a year. Besides environmental education for school groups, individuals, and families, the Refuge provides wildlife observation, hunting, fishing, canoeing and hiking opportunities for tourists and local citizens.

The Refuge Visitors’ Center and Conservation Learning Center are also open to the public.

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.