Archived News | Return to News Center

April 2, 2009

One hundred ULM freshmen initiated into honor society

One hundred University of Louisiana at Monroe students received initiation into the scholastic honor society Alpha Lambda Delta March 12 at the ULM Conference Center.

Laura Lacey Hales, current president of the ULM chapter, recalled a packed house and the inspiration received from President James and First Lady Deborah Cofer’s presence.

“President Cofer advised them at PREP to ‘get up and go to your classes, sit on the front row and ask a lot of questions.’ He mentioned at the ALD initiation that they should ‘get to know the professors because they are people just like you.’ He went on to say that his third piece of advice would be dispensed at the initiates’ commencement ceremony.”

Initiates for the spring of 2009 are:

Lindsey A. Atkins, Jennifer Ballard, Abbey M. Balliviero, Patrice Nicole Batchan, Kasundra Beene, Maranda K. Berry, Tommy Block, Daniel Bonnette, Samantha Carr, Alison Cooke, Emily Cooke, Tyler Smith Covington, Courtney Craig, Kelsi Crain, Lisa Cripps, Jessica Donley

Taylor Ezell, Ryan Kyle Fulford, Angelica Gholston, Brooke Gill, Andres Granada, Marissa Ashleigh Greer, Kelsey Hargrove, Lindsay Harrington, Darrell Dane Johnson, Bradly Jones, Summer Kile, Dustin A. Lovas, Lauren McCurry, Kristen McDaniel, Lauren D. Meredith, Walter Migaud, Elizabeth Marie Miller, Joshua Mire, Catherine Morrison

Caleb Andrew Parks, McKenzie Parks, Marlena Patrick, Scot Primm, Taylor Reppond, Laura Ashley Sidders, Logan Sloan, Anna Smith, Delysa D. Smith, Za’Keedra Spurs, Candace R. Stacy, Lance Michael Stapleton, Chris Tyler, Samantha Wilcher, Larrie Diane Williams, Sara Williams, Shelby Wilson, Benjamin Todd Winkler

Brittany Alcora Clark, Micah Clauss, Abby Elizabeth Hart, Marissa Israel, Schqueatta Johnson, Emily Jo Jones, Caleb Kennedy, Chelsea Knight, Aleisha LeBlanc, Brittany D. McGee, Jenny R. Rhodes, Meghan Roddy, Rachel Rosenberg, Brooke Opal Saunier

Mary Thiels, Sarah Torrence, Angelica Trevison, Crystal Leonard Wallingsford, Erica Lauren Wollerson, Joshua Caleb Albritton, Jason Everett Weimar, Nicholas Long, Mallory Murphy, Konyerem Irondi, Josh Williams, Jay’Dah Lewis, Sarah McKay, Morgan Coats, Jarred Hardee, Heather Finn

Nathan Thompson, Benjamin D. Young, Collin John Stagg, Alexandra Temblador, Ashleigh Aldridge, Fernando Cordova, Stacia Palmer, Chandani Patel, Jessee Robertson, Abigail Sumrall, Ashley Urban, Christa Stutts, Chirag Patel, Chelsey Rider, Drew Register, Morgan Bivens, and Caitlin Reynolds.

Officers in the organization this year are as follows:

Chapter advisors are as Harry Hale, Ph.D.; Matthew Matusiak, Ph.D.; and Martha Anderson, Ph.D., the administrative liaison.

More about Alpha Lambda Delta

Alpha Lambda Delta is a national society for freshman who maintain the high academic achievement of at least a 3.5 grade point average during their first semester of college. Alpha Lambda Delta was established in 1924; the ULM chapter began in 1955. Since then, it has won the “Order of the Torch” (the highest recognition award from the national Alpha Lambda Delta organization) three times and the “Maintaining the Flame” award three times as well.

Chapter traditions include the annual Smarty Party, Favorite Professors Wine and Cheese Reception, and the Fall and Spring Initiation.

The chapter takes part in campus activities like Browse on the Bayou, PREP, Adopt-a-Spot, the Homecoming Banner Competition, the Christmas Card Competition, and Oozeball. Members also take the time to deliver cookies as a welcome to new professors employed by the university.

They also participate in local community service, such as the Salvation Army ringing of the bells, Habitat for Humanity, St. Jude’s Up 'Til Dawn, the Cerebral Palsy Telethon, Bowl for Kids’ Sake, and volunteer opportunities at Sallie Humble Elementary School.

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.