Archived News | Return to News Center

July 31, 2009

ULM Spirit Groups win big; capture prestigious Leadership Award

University of Louisiana at Monroe spirit groups returned to campus with several awards, including the prestigious Leadership Award, following a week of summer camp in San Marcos, Texas.

ULM Cheerleaders, members of the ULM Pom Line and the ULM Mascot recently participated in Universal Cheerleaders Association and Universal Dance Association camp at Texas State University, earning placement in several different competitions.

The ULM Cheerleaders, competing in the large co-ed division group, proudly walked away with the Leadership Award, the most prestigious award of the competition. The award is voted on by the different schools represented at camp and goes to the team that stood out in all areas of competition.

Cheerleaders also placed second in sideline and third in cheer competition.

Members of the ULM Pom Line received all superiors in dance evaluations and placed second in Fight Song Competition, while Ace, the ULM Mascot, placed third in Overall Spirit Competition.

Both UCA and UDA have a stated goal of inspiring leadership among their members, as they provide support for university athletic programs.

ULM Cheerleaders Members

• Chris Archie, Brandon, Miss.
• Beaux Atkins, Blanchard
• Amber Belaire, Pineville
• Lexi Bonner, Monroe
• Sadie Bowlan, Carlisle, Ark.
• Emmi Burgess, Quitman, Miss.

• Alli Cascio, Bossier City
• Ashley Chapman, Brandon
• Courtney Chapman, Delhi
• Kourtney Dorbeck, Tallulah
• Kayla Emerson, West Monroe
• Mani Gammel, Pineville
• Kelly Gary, Gulfport, Miss.
• Lauren Grady, Brookhaven, Miss.

• Jordan Kiser, Picayune, Miss.
• Brittany Miser, Bossier City
• Katie Miller, Monroe
• Rachel Moss, Shreveport
• Mallarie Phillips, Calhoun
• Erika Pickett, Lake Charles
• Molly Plauche, Pineville
• Lindsay Ray, Monroe
• Lauren Rosson, Portland, Ark.

• Adam Sanderson, Booneville, Ark.
• Cristina Smith, Haughton
• Destiny Talley, Monroe
• Katherine Tarver, Shreveport
• Emily Taylor, Monroe
• Skyla Thibodeaux, Duson
• Petey Thigpen, Ellisville, Miss.
• Erica Tumey, West Monroe

• Kristie Watson, Eros
• Jessica Wood, Spearsville
• Catherine Wooten, Bastrop
• Erin Wooten, Bastrop
• Sean Young, Monroe
• Coach Peaire Allison, Star, Miss.
• Coach Jennifer Sword, Monroe

ULM Pom Squad Members

• Brittany Bacle, Monroe
• Sonni Bennett, West Monroe
• Sarah Michelle Brown, Olla
• Anna Davis, Arvada, Colo.
• Lacey Gresham, Trout
• Candice Johnson, Keller, Texas
• Brittany Jordan, Calhoun

• Abbey Luckett, Winnsboro
• Jennifer Maranto, Bossier City
• Danielle Stanley, Bossier City
• Amanda Zotsky, Crosby, Texas
• Lindsey Vierra, Bossier City
• Coach Colette Boutwell, Monroe

ULM Mascots Members

• Andrea Fontenot, Lake Charles
• Louis Thomas, Lancaster, Texas

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.