Archived News | Return to News Center

May 13, 2009

ULM Clinical lab faculty named Educator of the Year

Assistant Professor Melanie Chapman of the University of Louisiana at Monroe received the Louisiana Society for Clinical Laboratory Science’s Educator of the Year award at a recent state meeting.

Chapman's honor recognizes “outstanding professional achievement of a clinical laboratory science educator who, in personal and professional life, has demonstrated dedication to the highest professional ideals and concern for the well being of others; and who, by outstanding example, has inspired others in clinical laboratory science.”

Additional ULM Clinical Laboratory Science faculty members and their students also attended the American Society for Clinical Laboratory Science of Louisiana and Mississippi. Professor Michael Ramsey, Assistant Professor Matthew Matusiak and 15 students in ULM’s CLS program attended the 2009 Joint Annual Meeting in Alexandria, April 27-30.

Matusiak presented “Workplace Bullying: An Old Problem, but a New Management Concern,” at the meeting. ULM CLS students in their senior year participated in student bowl competition, while junior students served as timekeepers, scorekeepers and sergeant-at-arms for the games.

Four ULM CLS students, Mandi Hollis, Laura Beth Harkness, Sarah Woodruff, and Kimberly Dupre, were awarded $200 awards for scientific papers submitted in competition. Maegan Guccione, a December 2008 ULM CLS graduate, received the LSCLS Student of the Year award.

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.