Archived News | Return to News Center

April 23, 2010

ULM establishes National Political Science Honor Society chapter

The University of Louisiana at Monroe hosted the formal establishment ceremony of the Alpha Zeta Nu chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha, the National Political Science Honor Society on April 22 at the University House.

Seven students joined Drs. Joshua Stockley, John Sutherlin and Kevin Unter, assistant professors of political science, as charter members of the group.

Pi Sigma Alpha is a national political science honor society founded in 1920 at the University of Texas to bring together students and faculty interested in the study of government and politics.

ULM students joining the organization are Joshua Albritton of Farmerville, Andrew Danna of Calhoun, Lynette Gregory of Bastrop, Connie Point of Pineville and Roxanne C. Bower, Katherine A. Bernhardt, and Charles D. Strauss, all of Monroe. In addition, Sutherlin will be presented with an honorary membership.

Selection into Pi Sigma Alpha is based on three criteria: an overall GPA that places the student within the top one-third of their graduating class, a GPA of 3.5 or better in Political Science courses and the completion of more than twelve hours of political science courses. Members receive a certificate of induction and an induction pin.

Pi Sigma Alpha exists to stimulate scholarship and intelligent interest in political science. This is promoted through a variety of programs, some of direct benefit to student members and local chapters and others targeted more generally at the profession of political science. The group has more than 700 chapters worldwide, and inducts 8,000 new members annually.

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.