Archived News | Return to News Center

March 18, 2010

ULM to recognize Chase bank as newest Hall of Distinction Award recipient

The University of Louisiana Monroe proudly recognizes Chase as the newest recipient of its Hall of Distinction Award, the most prestigious award given by the university.

ULM President James E. Cofer will present the award to Chase representative Susan Hoffmann, senior banker for Northeast Louisiana and ULM alum, in a 10:30 a.m. press conference scheduled for Monday, March 22. The event will be in the ULM Conference Center, on the library's seventh floor.

Chase's cumulative support of the university over the years totals over $1 million. This also earns them Tower Society membership, the highest giving level recognition in the Kitty DeGree Bell Tower Society.

"This award recognizes individuals and organizations who have honored ULM through a lifetime of distinction and exemplary service to, support for, or promotion of the university," said Cofer. "Chase is a clear example of this type of vital support provided by community businesses and leaders."

With more than 2,000 employees in Monroe, Chase supports ULM in numerous ways and encourages its employees and the community to use education as a springboard to achieve their life goals.

"We are honored to receive this prestigious award for a lifetime of support provided by Chase and its predecessor banks," said Hoffmann. "Chase recognizes the university's vast contribution to the betterment of our region. The education and training provided by ULM truly are invaluable."

Chase traces its heritage to the two largest local banks in Monroe, Ouachita National Bank and Central Bank. Ouachita National Bank merged on July 10, 1984, with the four largest Louisiana banks to form Premier Bank, later acquired by Bank One. In 1995, Central Bank was acquired by First National Bank of Commerce, which was later acquired by Bank One.

Chase, which acquired Bank One in 2004, keeps alive the great traditions of those heritage banks by supporting local causes and being the largest private, for-profit employer in the parish.

Former Hall of Distinction award recipients include:

2004 — Kitty DeGree
2005 — The Thomas H. and Mayme P. Scott Foundation
2006 — Nelson D. and Bennie Hughes Abell
2007 — Emy-Lou Biedenharn Foundation
2008 — CenturyTel

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.