Archived News | Return to News Center

March 31, 2010

Five mathematics professors win SITE Outstanding Paper award

Five faculty members in the University of Louisiana at Monroe’s mathematics department recently won an Outstanding Paper Award at the 2010 Society for Information Technology and Teacher Education 21st International Conference held March 29-April 2 in San Diego, Calif.

Dr. A. Dale Magoun, professor of mathematics; Dr. Charlotte Owens, instructor of mathematics; Dr. Serpil Saydam, associate professor of mathematics; Dr. David Hare, assistant professor of mathematics; and Beth Smith, instructor of mathematics, collaborated to write “Assessing the Performance of College Algebra Using Modularity and Technology: A Two Year Case Study of NCAT’s Supplemental Model.”

The paper was one of five chosen to receive the award.

SITE is an international association of educators in all disciplines interested in the use of information technology in teacher education and faculty/staff development. The group also publishes the “Journal of Technology and Teacher Education.” For more information, visit

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.