Archived News | Return to News Center

May 20, 2010

ULM’s Division of Music presents annual awards and music scholarships

The University of Louisiana at Monroe’s Division of Music presented its annual awards and scholarships at the Honors Recital in Biedenharn Recital Hall on Thursday, May 6.

Recital performers included Josh Bumgardner of Blanchard, Elizabeth Boston Bennett, Michael Holdiness, Madonna Gil, and Samantha Matherne, all of Monroe, Henry Tharpe of Delhi, and Mallory Sanchez of Shreveport.

Students received the following awards:

Choral Awards - Elizabeth Boston Bennett, Conductor's Award for Leadership; Holly McKoin, Edward Deckard Spirit Award; and Armand Wilson, American Choral Directors Association Award; all choral award students are from Monroe

Biedenharn Scholarship Awards - Elizabeth Boston Bennett of Monroe, Jennifer Free of Redlands, Calif., Linsy DePooter of Milah, Ill.

Band Honor Awards - Josh Bumgardner of Blanchard and Mallory Sanchez of Shreveport

Roger DiGiulian Memorial Scholarship, Monroe Symphony League String Scholarship, Harry Lemert Award in Music and Roger Frisbee Scholarship in Music- Samantha Matherne of Monroe

Delta Omicron (music sorority) Awards - Elizabeth Boston Bennett of Monroe, Star of Delta Omicron; Christina Sherman of Columbia, Senior Honor Award; and ULM Interim Head Derle R. Long, Patron of Delta Omicron

Franky Russell Memorial Scholarship in Jazz - Jessie Kelley of Gonzales and Charles Pridgen of Monroe

Florence Ziegler Allbritton Award - Allyson Crow of Monroe

Clara Freiberg Memorial Scholarship - Elizabeth Lusk of Monroe

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.