Archived News | Return to News Center

April 27, 2012

ULM Medical Laboratory Science students shine at tri-state meeting

Fifteen University of Louisiana at Monroe medical laboratory science students and three faculty members attended the
joint annual meeting of the Louisiana, Mississippi and
Tennessee Societies for Clinical Laboratory Science in Tunica, Miss., April 9 – 11.

ULM MLS Team 1 members were Aimee Soileaux (team captain) of Rayne, Shantell Layton of Monroe, Jessica Madden of Dubach, Ashley Maxwell of West Monroe, and David Dearman of West Monroe.

ULM MLS Team 2 members were LeAnna Simpson (team captain) of Sulphur, Sarah Day of Thibodaux, LaToya Smith of Monroe, Whitney DeLaSalle of Monroe, and Randi Jowers of West Monroe.

ULM Team 1 won second place, and ULM Team 2 won fourth place in the exciting two-day double elimination competition.

Three junior MLS students were elected to the Louisiana Society for Clinical Laboratory Science Student Forum for 2012- 2013.

Johntavious Hampton of Homer was elected student forum chair, Rosalie Baylock of West Monroe was elected student forum co-chair, and Evan Ashley of Olla was elected student forum secretary.

These outstanding junior ULM MLS students will attend the American Society for Clinical Laboratory Science National Meeting in Los Angeles, Calif., July 17-21.

Hampton will represent the LSCLS Student Forum as a delegate to the national meeting.

"I am extremely proud of our students," said Debbie Wisenor, ULM MLS program director.

"The seniors prepared well for the student bowl competition and represented the MLS program and the university with exceptional professionalism and sportsmanship. The three juniors who were elected to the student forum will represent all medical laboratory science students in Louisiana. This is a high honor for our program and for ULM."

Nineteen teams comprised of students from university and hospital MLS programs competed in the annual student bowl competition.

The teams were from ULM, LSU Health Sciences Center-Shreveport, LSU Health Sciences Center-New Orleans, Overton Brooks VA Hospital-Shreveport, Our Lady of the Lake College-Baton Rouge, Rapides Regional Medical Center-Alexandria, University of Mississippi Medical Center-Jackson, University of Southern Mississippi- Hattiesburg, and Mississippi Baptist.

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.