Archived News | Return to News Center

August 8, 2012

Governor names ULM pharmacy assistant dean state representative

Governor Bobby Jindal has named Dr. Mary Gauthier-Lewis, assistant dean for the College of Pharmacy at the University of Louisiana at Monroe’s Baton Rouge campus, a representative for the Medicaid Pharmaceutical and Therapeutics Committee.

The committee is comprised of 21 members including the secretary of the Department of Health and Hospitals, the director of the Medicaid program in the Department of Health and Hospitals, the president of the Senate, the speaker of the House of Representatives or their designees.

The remaining 17 members are gubernatorial appointments.

“Appointment to the Medicaid Pharmaceutical and Therapeutics Committee by Governor Jindal recognizes Dr. Gauthier-Lewis's expertise and respect as a pharmacy practitioner and educator,” said Dr. Benny Blaylock, dean for the College of Pharmacy.

“The College of Pharmacy is proud of Dr. Gauthier-Lewis and excited about her opportunity to contribute to the mission of this committee.”

The committee is charged with conducting in-depth clinical evaluations and giving recommendations on appropriate drugs for preferred status on the state’s Preferred Drug List which features drugs that are designated as having been selected for their productivity, clinical significance, cost effectiveness and safety for Medicaid beneficiaries.

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.