Archived News | Return to News Center

March 1, 2012

Competition results announced from ULM's 2012 Louisiana High School Technology Challenge

The results are in for the Sixth Annual Louisiana High School Technology Challenge, a yearly online educational event hosted by the University of Louisiana at Monroe.

The challenge, organized by Mike Beutner, ULM associate professor of instructional technology, is the only one of its kind for high schools in Louisiana and is intended to instill a passion for teamwork, celebrate outstanding student achievement, and attract more female and minority students to professional and technical careers in technology.

A total of 37 high school teams, or about 500 students, participated this year.

First Place: Pineville High School, Rapides Parish
Kathy Bennett, team coach

Participating members were: Victoria Totman, Christopher Bennett, Zackary Faircloth, Cody Strickland, Carly Sjoberg, Malik Victorian, Danni Wrenn, Ryan Ware, Courtney Carr, Casey Chaudoir, Bryce Pfeiffer, Alley Wheelis, Laine Lyles, Russell Potter, and Camille Faircloth.

Second Place: Breaux Bridge High School, St. Martin Parish
Christine Mills, team coach

Participating members were: Joey Benoit, Christopher Boudreaux, Justin Boudreaux, Zachary Dupuis, Brooke Gillespie, Randall Hebert, Paige Hollier, Aimle Lasseigne, Blake LeBlanc, Olivia Meche, Gabriel Mouton, Katherine Read, Nicole Strickland, Kaleb Theriot, and Kylar Wiltz.

Third Place: Hahnville High School, St. Charles Parish
Patricia Chevalier, team coach

Participating members were: Dwayne Ballard, Michael Ballard, Lauren Beatle, Jared Bosco, John Burns, Zachary Corzo, Lauryn DesChamps, Dylan Detiller, Thomas Hymel, James Love, Spencer Marston, Kaleigh Orr, Rebecca Orr, Brandy Soignier, and Bryce Soignier.

Fourth Place: Westgate High School, Iberia Parish
Jean Thomassie, team coach

Participating members were: Morgan Bulliard, Erika Decoux, Jake Touchet, Quinten Picard, Eric Day, Scotty Rachaphoumy, Dalyssia McAlister, Derien Pacetti, Brandi Trahan, Alex Bourque, Brock Comeaux, Tyler Gondran, Nicholas Jackson, Michael Bourgoyne, and Eilynn Tran.

Fifth Place: Patrick F. Taylor Science & Technology Academy, Jefferson Parish
Kelly Maher, team coach

Participating members were: Kashif Mustahsan, Daniel Gutierrez, Krishna Allam, Thomas Sostarics, Ben Gothard, Jeffrey Sturcke, Darion Toups, Linda Arellano, Tiffany Lou, A.J. McGee, Paris Evans, Michael Rousell, Tameka Aych, Linda Tran, and Nathalie Argueta.

The event was moderated by a qualified team of judges at ULM.

Students were rated on the following challenges: searching the Internet for reliable information, citing sources and using grammatically correct sentences.

Creative teamwork was required to complete several challenging tasks such as creating websites, spreadsheets, flyers, newsletters, documents, animations, and designs.

Participating teams used a working knowledge of software and the Internet—skills that are commonly used in the modern work place.

Beutner praised CenturyLink and its Community Grants representative Kristy LaCroix for their generous sponsorship.

"Thanks to CenturyLink's invaluable support of education, all of the teams were able to participate at no cost. Everyone is very grateful to them and for their planned future kindness."

The next Louisiana High School Technology Challenge will take place online across Louisiana Feb. 6, 2013.

All information will be available at

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.