Archived News | Return to News Center

April 29, 2013

ULM professor named Educator of the Year; students honored

Jessica Lasiter, assistant professor of Medical Laboratory Science at the University of Louisiana at Monroe, received the Louisiana Society for Clinical Laboratory Science’s Educator of the Year award at the recent LSCLS luncheon in Alexandria.

“Being named Educator of the Year for Louisiana Society for Clinical Laboratory Science is truly amazing,” said Lasiter.

“I would not have received this award without support and mentoring from my family, friends and coworkers.”

According to the LSCLS, this award recognizes outstanding professional achievement of a medical laboratory science educator who, in personal and professional life, has demonstrated dedication to the highest professional ideals and concern for the well-being of others; and who, by outstanding example, has inspired others in medical laboratory science.

Lasiter, of Olla, received a Bachelor of Science degree in Medical Technology in 2001, and a Master of Health Information Management in 2007 from Louisiana Tech University.

“I worked as a medical laboratory scientist for eight years until a teaching position became available at ULM in 2010. Seeing a student flourish into a competent and passionate medical laboratory scientist is most enjoyable to me.”

Several MLS students were also honored at the conference.

Captain Johntavious Hampton of Homer received the LSCLS Student of the Year award.

Senior MLS students participated in the student bowl competition, which consisted of 18 teams from university and hospital MLS programs in Louisiana and Mississippi.

ULM MLS faculty accompanied 19 students to the conference. Team One members included Captain Hilary Copeland of Rayville, Rosalie Baylock of West Monroe, Bi Jiang Liu of Baton Rouge, Brian McHenry of West Monroe, and Brittany Page of Shreveport.

Team One finished in fifth place.

Team Two members included Captain Johntavious Hampton of Homer, Evan Ashley of Jena, Kumari Awasthi of Nepal, Jessica Delgadillo of Winnfield, and Mallory McCarty of Grayson.

Team Two finished in fourth place.

Junior MLS students served as timekeepers, scorekeepers, and sergeant-at-arms for the games.

Three junior MLS students received LSCLS Student Paper Awards for scientific papers submitted. Tiffany Cummins of Rayville, wrote “Necrotizing Fasciitis: The Flesh-Eating Disease,” Nikki Farrar of Downsville, wrote “Tularemia,” and Jada Freeland of Rayville, submitted “Toxoplasmosis: A Neglected Parasitic Infection.” Each received an award of $150.

Debbie Wisenor, MLS department head and program director said, “The tradition of excellence in the MLS program at ULM, which began many years ago, continues today. I am extremely proud of the MLS faculty and students who represent the MLS program and the university with self-confidence and character.”

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.