Archived News | Return to News Center

August 20, 2013

ULM radiologic technology students and faculty impress at conference

Faculty members and students from the University of Louisiana at Monroe Department of Radiologic Technology brought home multiple awards and recognitions during the 56th annual meeting of the Louisiana Society of Radiologic Technologies (LSRT).

The conference was held in Baton Rouge in late July.

ULM's 2013 RadTech Quiz Bowl team won second place honors, making this the second year in a row that the ULM Department of Radiologic Technology has placed in the competition.

Team members included ULM students Kelli Beach of Bastrop, Audre Green of Monroe, Mariah Hilliard of Many, Rachael Maynard of Oxford Mass., Alex Strange of West Monroe, and Will Walding of Pollock.

The team members and coach Andy Allen, assistant professor of radiologic technology at ULM, were awarded individual plaques at the Presidential Banquet.

Whitley Gillin of Abita Springs, Melody Raybourn of West Monroe, and Jacob Slade of Bastrop also assisted in the quiz bowl preparations.

Rebecca Gibson of Oak Ridge, a 2013 graduate of the radiologic technology program, was awarded the LSRT's Joe Schwartz Memorial Scholarship.

Gibson was involved extensively with the state and national societies during her time in the professional program, and contributed significantly on behalf of the student technologists in the state.

Now as a registered technologist, Gibson is continuing her professional contributions by pursuing a master of education at ULM, as well as serving on the LSRT By-Laws Task Force.

The Department of Radiologic Technology faculty was also well represented at the event.

Instructor Jennifer Michael presented a lecture titled "The Radiologic Technologist and Social Networking," and was appointed chair of the 2014 LSRT MidWinter Meeting committee, which will be held on the ULM campus in March.

Clinical Coordinator Andy Allen was presented with a plaque at the Presidential Banquet recognizing his service as past president, board member, and outgoing chairman of the board.

ULM Radiologic Technology Program Director Brett Bennett was sworn in as the new chairman of the board following his past year of service as board member.

According to their website, the LSRT srtives to advance the professions of radiation and imaging specialties, to maintain high standards of education, to enhance the quality of patient care, and to further the welfare and socioeconomics of Radiologic Technologists.

In order to maintain high levels of ethical conduct, the LSRT adopts the Code of Ethics established by the American Society of Radiologic Technologists (ASRT) and the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT).

Group photo courtesy

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.