Archived News | Return to News Center

February 26, 2013

ULM Emerging Scholars honored at banquet

The Emerging Scholars Program at the University of Louisiana at Monroe recently held its annual banquet to honor freshman and sophomore students.

The program targets motivated students seeking to perform research and become “junior colleagues” to ULM professors.

“I congratulate our scholars and thank the faculty and staff for facilitating this challenging program,” said ULM President Dr. Nick J. Bruno.

“Allowing our students to conduct research with our faculty provides them with a very rich and rewarding academic experience.”

Each semester, students from all of ULM’s academic colleges are selected for this prestigious program.

During the 2012 calendar year, nearly 120 students participated.

This number includes 41 students who participated through ULM’s Howard Hughes Medical Institute Lab Program.

Emerging Scholars began in the spring of 2003 as a means to bring together outstanding students and dedicated faculty members, who work on a variety of projects.

The program joins students and professors in cooperative research and other professional activities.

The reception recognizes the students who have participated in and successfully completed the program.

Each student is required to complete a research project with a faculty member by the end of the semester.

Students are then awarded a certificate and university medallion. The medallion is worn at graduation as a symbol of their scholarship.

The following students were honored as 2012 Emerging Scholars:


Alexandria: Torri Beaudoin, freshman biology major

Baton Rouge: Jameson Alston, freshman kinesiology major; Meghan Kurz, freshman biology major

Bossier City: Lara Crawford, freshman biology major; Raven Hargrove, freshman biology major; Stephen Jackson, freshman biology major; Shanika McCray, sophomore biology major; Erin Rizzo, freshman biology major

Broussard: Shanet McCarter, sophomore mass communication major

Calhoun: Jack Brewer, freshman pharmacy major; Alyssa Boyd, freshman biology major

Church Point: Heidi Higginbotham, freshman aviation major

Delhi: Stevie Bach, freshman biology major

Dry Prong: Rachel Barnes, sophomore art major

Dubach: Karlie Stuckey, freshman music major

Farmerville: Felicia Kimmerling, freshman biology major

Frogmore: Cari Ainsworth, freshman marketing major

Gonzales: Rachel Johnston, freshman biology major

Grand Cane: Timothy Fuller, freshman biology major

Harrisonburg: Erica Cater, freshman pharmacy major

Jefferson: Stephen Kreller, freshman atmospheric science major

Jennings: Rebecca Baudin, freshman biology major

Jonesboro: Wendi Henderson, freshman radiological technology major

Jonesville: Vadesha Sadler, freshman biology major

Kaplan: Mary Bourque, freshman biology major

Kinder: Jobi Arceneaux, freshman biology major

Lake Charles: Kari Leake, freshman pharmacy major

LaPlace: Hannah Bergeron, sophomore speech-language pathology major

Leesville: Emily Noble, freshman biology major

Mandeville:  Alexandra Treadaway, freshman biology major

Marrero: Alex Fields, freshman biology major

Metairie: Manuel Kassardjian, freshman biology major

Monroe: Adebanjo Adedoja, sophomore biology major; Iurii Galadzhun, freshman chemistry major; Joseph Griffith, sophomore history major; Renuka Gurung, sophomore art major; James Hodge, sophomore music major; Monaporn Kuanliang, freshman music major; Megan Lindholm, sophomore math major; Samuel McGaugh, sophomore music major; Kimberley Okoyeze, sophomore biology major; Dipta Pokharel, freshman biology major; Stacy Reppond, freshman mass communication major; Britton Satcher, freshman computer science major; Tamara Bell, sophomore computer science major; Alberto Moncayo, sophomore accounting major; Bikram Ojha, sophomore accounting major; Prabin Panta, sophomore accounting major; Charles Parker, freshman finance major; Jasurbek Rajabov freshman finance major; Sailesh Wagle, sophomore computer science major; Leighanna Blanson, freshman elementary education major; Jesse Flunder, sophomore elementary education major;

Amy Matherne, freshman vocal music education major; Michael Roboski, sophomore secondary education major; Brian Scholes, sophomore kinesiology major; Schuyler Connell, sophomore nursing major; Anupa Prajapati, sophomore pre-medical laboratory science major; Elee Barber, sophomore pharmacy major; Dylan Leblanc, sophomore pharmacy major; Diana Ndunda, sophomore pharmacy major; Pasang Sherpa sophomore pharmacy major; Brice Gillikin, freshman biology major; Mallorie Hays, sophomore biology major; Sarah Hays, freshman biology major; Tierra King, freshman biology major; Jonathan Livingston, freshman biology major; Kelbie McCauley, freshman biology major; Gabrielle Morgan, sophomore biology major; Maroutcha Mouawad, freshman biology major; Kristina Ok, sophomore biology major; Shaterrica Sampson, sophomore biology major; Amanda Schorr, freshman biology major; John Vu, sophomore biology major

Monterey: Katherine Thomas, sophomore biology major

Natchitoches: Theron Starnes, sophomore construction management major; Danielle Coutee, sophomore pharmacy major

New Iberia: Michaela Reed, sophomore kinesiology major

Oak Grove: Angelic Dye, sophomore biology major; Raya Hughes, freshman biology major

Raceland: Courtney Robertson, freshman nursing major

Rayville: Kelli Neal, sophomore biology major; Will Romero, sophomore miology major

Shreveport: Cheyenne Wilson, freshman political science major; Mary Strobel, freshman nursing major; Jacob Simon, freshman biology major

St. Rose: Amanda Johnson, sophomore pharmacy major

Sterlington: Nathan Simpson, freshman nursing major; Sarah Kelly, freshman accounting major; Rudolf Beutner, freshman biology major; Nathan Simpson, freshman biology major

West Monroe: Alex Almarode, freshman music major; Kelly Anderson, sophomore biology major; William Dozier, freshman music major; Alissa Gilbert, sophomore English major; Eric Knight, sophomore biology major; Sandy Nguyen, freshman biology major; Similoluwa Ogundare, sophomore biology major; Benton Remsberg, freshman mass communication major; Malynda Tyson, sophomore art major; Mary Murry, sophomore elementary education major; Ifeoluwa Babatunde, freshman pharmacy major; Tyler Aulds, freshman biology major; Megan Furr, freshman biology major

Winnsboro: Martika Cheffin, sophomore music major; Ellen Lee, freshman atmospheric science major; Allena Wiggers, freshman finance major; Kelly Kiper, freshman nursing major; Josh Strickland, freshman biology major

Other States:

Lakewood, Colo.: Catherine Schilling, freshman biology major

Winter Garden, Fla.: Rodrick Brady, freshman accounting major

Dallas, Texas: Joshua Dean, freshman atmospheric science major

Grand Prairie, Texas: Mary Tokunboh, sophomore toxicology major

Houston, Texas: Jared Marquis, sophomore atmospheric science major; Nate Nasworthy, freshman music major; Alexis Jones, freshman biology major

Kilgore, Texas: Hunter Dean, freshman pharmacy major

Milwaukee, Wis.: Sieda Witcher, freshman finance major

International: Shah Hassan, sophomore computer science major; Radu Marian, freshman marketing major

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.