Archived News | Return to News Center

July 18, 2013

ULM President's Academy announces grand prize recipients

The 2013 President’s Academy at the University of Louisiana at Monroe ended with a banquet and awards ceremony, recognizing the hard work of the academy participants, and the ULM faculty and staff who made the academy possible.

ULM President Dr. Nick J. Bruno praised the students for their hard work.

“The work that you have done this week is what you can expect on the college level,” he laughed.

“The amazing facilities, labs, and attentive faculty and staff are all part of the ULM experience.”

Each academy participant received a medal and certificate for their efforts, as well as ULM credit. The students were divided into “X-teams” to develop a solution and action plan to combat a fictional “pandemic.”

Each team presented for judges on the closing day of the academy with only one X-team taking home the grand prize.

“X-team 4” won the competition earning them first place medals. The team was comprised of six juniors and seniors from across the region.

Elaina Cole of Convington, Wyatt Gill of Kentwood, Folasade Lapite of Monroe, Alexandra Mantz of Lake Village, Ark., Kansas Rosamond of Terry, Miss., Aaron Taylor of Choudrant, and Phillip Smith of Rayville were all on the winning team.

2013 marked the second year of the academy—a career-oriented summer program for high-ability high school juniors and seniors throughout Louisiana, and the regions of Texas, Arkansas, and Mississippi.

In all, there were 52 participants, an increase from the inaugural academy, which hosted 48 students.

Each student was allowed to choose a career path in physical science, medical science, computer science, or law, and an externship with one of four corporate partners in exchange for one college credit. Partners included E.A. Conway Medical Center; ANGUS Chemical Company, a subsidiary of Dow Chemical; Escamilla and Poneck LLP; and CenturyLink; with The Ouachita Council on aging providing support for the Medical Science students

President’s Academy participants:

Jeannie Bruner of Madisonville; Trent Guillory of Pineville; Mary McMullen of Monroe; Payton Octave of Vacherie; Morgan Rea of Denham Springs; Alicia Sujana of Bossier City; Andrew Watson of Bastrop; Ashley Augustus of Baton Rouge; Bobbi Fields of Monroe; Nathaniel Gardner of Natchitoches; Emile Jeunesse of Kenner; Dava Johnson of West Monroe; Erin Minor of Monroe; Madeline Spearman of Denham Springs; Dena El-Giar of West Monroe; Kate Garrett of Monroe; Joshua Gilmore of Delhi; Kelsey McNulty of Mesquite, Texas; Joshua Mouledoux of Baton Rouge; Reed Streets of Slidell; Aidan White of Gillett, Ark.; Matthew Begue of Port Allen; Cody Bly of White Oak, Texas; Madilyn Bragg of West Monroe;

Hannah Broussard of Breaux Bridge; Kobi Cameron of Metairie; Nicholas Cataldie of Pineville; Adrienne Pilgreen of Gilbert; Joshua Brock of Shreveport; Hannah Brown of Dodson; Kristil Could of Schriever; James DeWitt of Monroe; Alicia Graham of Pearl River; Sabra Hanna of DeRidder; Emily Schultz of Gonzales; Angelica Tobin of Bossier City; Bradley Benton of Mandeville; Julia Blackett of Monroe; Haley Clinton of Monroe; Tyler Jester of Monroe; Stephen Lusk of Liberty, Miss.; Kasey Ryman of Monroe; Clara Tobin of Bossier City; Eboni Williams of Monroe; and Ashley Hunter.

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.