Archived News | Return to News Center

May 22, 2013

ULM chapter of Sigma Tau Delta initiates 13 new members

The University of Louisiana at Monroe’s Beta Zeta chapter of the English Honor Society, Sigma Tau Delta, welcomed 13 new student members during its annual initiation.

The new members are Adam Breitenbach of West Monroe, Courtney Cain of Baton Rouge, Stacy Calhoun of Monroe, Lakeesha Carhee of Mansfield, Elizabeth Cooley of Monroe, Melinda Johnson of Bossier City, Crystal Miller-Gardner of Monroe, Catherine Olson of Bossier City, Jessica Piro of Mangham, Douglissa Powell of Tallulah, Kenneth Robson of Bryant, Ark., Valerie Upshaw of Monroe, and Caleb Womack of Collinston.

The ceremony was conducted by chapter advisor Dr. Jana Giles, and student chapter president Justina Salassi of Alexandria.

Student initiates read short works exemplifying their love of English studies, and received certificates and pins acknowledging their achievement.

Dr. Mary Adams, associate professor of English, delivered the annual English Faculty Lecture, “Cultural Studies: What You Should Know.”

Sigma Tau Delta is the national English honor society created to confer distinction for high achievement in English language and literature in undergraduate, graduate, and professional studies.

The requirements for undergraduate initiation are a 3.0 grade point average and at least 15 credit hours in English courses beyond freshman composition. A 3.3 grade point average is required for graduate initiation.

The Beta Zeta Chapter at ULM was founded in 1955.

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.