ULM logo
College of Business & Social Sciences
Social Work

Honor Society

General Information and History

The Phi Alpha Honor Society is the National Honor Society for social work students. Phi Alpha was formed on a National level in 1962 and six chapters qualified to become "charter chapters". They were: Florida State University, Michigan State University, Ohio Northern University, Central State College, University of Dayton and the University of Tennessee.

Phi Alpha offers membership to social work students, faculty and practicioners, and each chapter is free to develop a program to meet local needs. The National Council is the policy-making body and meets each year at the time and place of the Annual program meeting of CSWE. Each chapter has one voting representative in the Council.


The purposes of Phi Alpha Honor Society are to provide a closer bond among students of social work and promote humanitarian goals and ideals. Phi Alpha fosters high standards of education for social workers and invites those into membership who have attained excellence in scholarship and achievement in social work.

Motto: "Through knowledge - the challenge to serve"

Each Chapter Participates In:

Qualifications For Acceptance