ULM logo
ULM treats “Top Hawks” to ice cream and iPads

Published September 05, 2014

The University of Louisiana at Monroe Office of Recruitment and Admissions hosted an ice cream social for select freshmen students in honor of their outstanding test scores. These scholars are known as “Top Hawks.”

Incoming freshmen--with an American College Testing (ACT) score of 30 or higher and a high school grade point average (GPA) of 3.75 or higher--were honored with a special ceremony which included ice cream and ULM-themed gift packages, each containing a special gift—an Apple iPad and ULM iPad case. 


“It’s great to have all of you here as part of the Warhawk family,” said ULM President Dr. Nick J. Bruno. “This is the most academically gifted freshman class in this university’s history and we want you to get into the classrooms and the labs and maintain your GPAs. Today we are welcoming you to ULM, but it will not be long before you walk across the stage and get your diploma.”

The iPads were purchased by the ULM Foundation through private donations.

Students who received an iPad for their 30 or higher on the ACT included:

Sera Andras of Houma; Cory Atkinson of Sulphur; Elizabeth Austin of Monroe; John Barnette of Stonewall; Jed Bethea of Ringgold; Christian Bonner of Winnsboro; Morgan Bruce of Georgetown; Carlie Comeaux of Port Allen; Peyton Conner of Longville; Brittany Crowe of Oak Grove; Caleb Doyle of Dry Prong; Emily Dupree of Rayville; Taylor Fink of Wesson. Miss.; Nora Gill of West Monroe; Alicia Graham of Slidell; Caleb Green of Monroe; Lauren Haigler of Haughton; Tyler Hampton of Jonesboro; Wayne Hemphill of Monroe; Hannah Henry of Monroe; Gillian Holder of Calhoun; and Jocelin Jackson of Ruston.

Anne-Catherine Jagneaux; Julie Jordan of Calhoun; Shelby Lawrence of Prairieville; Elizabeth Lee of Pineville; Kasey McDonald of Monroe; Aaron Mceachern of Shongaloo; Alyssa McMurray; Devin Melancon of Arnaudville; Paris Moore of Carencro; Alexis Morgan of Camden, Ark.; Daniel Myers of Geismar; Zachary Palowsky of Monroe; Rachel Pecora of Zachary; Matthew Rowland of Monroe; Wesley Ryland of Pineville; Chloe Sealy of Metairie; Kaitlin Simpson of Bossier City; Ethan Sims of Calhoun Stephen Snelling of Shreveport; Eris Stove of Thibodaux; Matthew Thornhill of West Monroe; Kayla Trahan of Youngsville; Rebecca Watkins of Shreveport; Dustin White of Gilmer, Texas; and Katherine Wright of Dry Prong.

About the ULM Foundation:

Established in 1961, the ULM Foundation is a private non-profit organization dedicated to the growth, development, and enhancement of ULM.

The Foundation manages various programs, including: scholarships, professorship and chair funds, alumni, fund-raising and development operations, college and body departmental support, and other university-related programs.