ULM logo
ULM Water Ski to host annual Bayou Classic

Published September 17, 2014

The University of Louisiana at Monroe’s National Champion Water Ski Team will host the 2014 ULM Fall Bayou Classic Water Ski Tournament. The tournament will be held Sept. 20-21, on Bayou DeSiard, next to the Ana Gray Noe Alumni Center on Bon Aire Drive. Each day’s skiing will begin at 8 a.m. The event is free and open to the public.

Competition skiing—men and women’s slalom, jump and trick events—will run on Saturday Sept. 20, with any remaining skiing continuing on Sunday.

This tournament serves as the home event for ULM and also as one the conference tournaments for the team. The ULM Water Ski Team competes in the National Collegiate Water Ski Association (NCWSA) South Central Region. Other schools in this conference include the University of Louisiana at Lafayette, Louisiana State University, Baylor University, University of Texas, Texas State University, Texas A&M University, the University of Arkansas, Mississippi State University and Oklahoma State University.


“We invite the ULM students, faculty, staff, and community members to come see us compete at our home tournament this weekend,” said Treina Landrum, director of recreational services and the ULM Water Ski team coach.

“Most of the skiing will occur on Saturday and the weather is looking good. We have been enjoying our 25th National Championship title this year, and we will go for our 26th National Championship title in October. Come support us this weekend. Spectators can expect to see some of the best water skiing in the world, with the ULM Water Ski Team leading with several world ranked and national champions.”

The ULM Water Ski Team holds 25 NCWSA Championship titles, winning 25 of the 35 years the competition has been held.

Spectators are encouraged to bring their favorite lawn chairs, and a cool drink.

The 2014-2015 ULM Water Ski Team:

Members of the women’s team include: Eleanor Benjamin of London, England; Manon Costard of Marseille, France; Emilia Hoikkanen of Helsinki, Finland; Sasha Danisheuskaya of Minsk, Belarus; Maddison McCammon of Kelowna, Canada; Laura Rader of Villach, Austria; Mara Salmina of Poertscach, Austria; and Janice Stevens of Morrisburg, Ontario, Canada.

The men’s team features: Jake Bridges of Dublin, Ireland; James Earl of Solihul, England; Taylor Horton of Moorpark, California; Martin Kolman of Prague, Czech Republic; and Michael Stevenson of Gilbert, Arizona.