ULM logo
ULM pharmacy student wins leadership award

Published December 10, 2014

Drew Register, a Monroe native and pharmacy student at the University of Louisiana at Monroe, was recently honored with the American Pharmacists Association, Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA-ASP) Student Leadership Award.

The award is given to four student pharmacists in the United States. Register serves as the Chapter President of the ULM APhA-ASP organization.


“It is extremely humbling to have been chosen to receive this award,” said Register. “Myself, as well as the other students in this organization provide screenings and education to our community members because that is sincerely what we love to do. Being recognized for striving to advance the profession I am so passionate for is truly an honor.”

According to the APhA-ASP, all nominees must be members of APhA-ASP and currently in their next to last year of graduation from an accredited school or college of pharmacy. A minimum grade point average of 2.75 (on a 4.0 scale) must be maintained.

Established in 1983, the APhA Student Leadership Awards recognize outstanding academic achievement and leadership ability in APhA-ASP at the local, regional, and national levels of students. The awards are endowed by Procter & Gamble.

Drew received nomination letters, and letters of recommendation from both professors and peers.

The award consists of a $500 scholarship, and a plaque, which will be presented at the APhA-ASP Awards Ceremony during the APhA Annual Meeting and Exposition in 2015.

“Moving forward, this award only further motivates me to make an impact on the health of those within our community,” Register said. “Our organization has innovative programming in the works to educate children and community members alike about diabetes, heart health, and drug abuse in the upcoming year.”

Register plans to graduate with a Pharm.D. in 2016.