ULM logo
ULM Cheer ranks fourth in the nation

Published January 20, 2014

Cheerleaders from the University of Louisiana at Monroe brought home a fourth place national ranking on Monday after competing at the 2015 Universal Cheerleaders Association (UCA) National Competition in Orlando, Fla., Jan. 16-18.

The squad competed in the Division IA All-Girl bracket for the first time in university history.
The University of Alabama, Indiana University, and San Diego State University took the top three spots. The competition began with 21 teams, and was narrowed to 14 teams for the finals on Jan. 18.

The team is coached by Peaire Allison and Nick Gaspard. Both were members of the 2005, 2006, and 2008 ULM National Champion cheer squads in Division IA-Small Coed. 


Megan Deshon-Runge, coordinator of spirit groups and Greek life, accompanied the group on the trip to Orlando.

"I am so incredibly proud of this group of young women," she said. "Going into one of the most difficult divisions at UCA College Nationals and holding their own against the largest schools in the SEC and ACC is very impressive."

"This is the first time ULM has competed as an all-girl squad so to bring home a fourth-place finish with scores so close in the top-five is beyond anything we ever imagined. These ladies sacrificed so much, including their winter break with their families, and I am so thrilled that their hard work and dedication paid off. They gave everything they had this weekend and really set the tone for what to expect from ULM Cheer in the future."

Members of the winning squad include: Keri Anderson of Shreveport; Lacy Bagbey of Monroe; Angela Cash of Elm Grove; Emily Cecil of Stonewall; Skylar DeRouen of New Iberia; Ann Elyse Dozier of Monroe; Alyssa Fontenot of Pineville; Jaimie Gilley of Monroe; Amber Griffin of Monroe; Hannah Hogan of Shreveport; Gabrielle Kelly of Monroe; Hunter Kerlegan of Houma; Erika McDermott of Monroe; Kristen McKeithen of Shreveport; Jordan Mertens of Ball; Jennifer Nelson of Monroe; Maitland Oller of Minden; Kelsey Osbon of Minden; Lindsey Owens of Springhill; Katelynn Roy of West Monroe; Jesse Smith of Monroe; Madison Smith of Monroe; Ciara Snelling of Shreveport; Kristyn Stinson of Marion; Kristen Toms of West Monroe; Raegan Trusty of Paris, Ark.; Me’Arisha Walker of Summit, Miss.; Allison Willard of Sterlington; and Dominique Young of Marrero.