ULM logo
ULM honors donors; names Hall of Distinction recipient

Published February 06, 2015

The University of Louisiana at Monroe held a Donor Recognition Program in the ULM Library Conference Center on Feb. 5. Honored were members of the Kitty DeGree Bell Tower Society, who have provided cumulative lifetime gifts totaling $50,000 and above, and the 2014 University Associates, who provided gifts of $1,000 and above in 2014.


“This event is a chance for us to honor our very special alumni and friends who have generously invested in our university not only this past year, but over eight decades,” said ULM President Dr. Nick J. Bruno.

Bruno also presented the Hall of Distinction Award, which is the university’s highest donor recognition honor. The 2014 recipient, The Lettie Pate Whitehead Foundation, is the first recipient since 2009. The award was established in 2004 to recognize individuals and organizations which have honored ULM through a lifetime of distinction and exemplary service to, support for, or promotion of the university.

The Lettie Pate Whitehead Foundation—an Atlanta-based charity dedicated to the support of women in nine southeastern states—has been a part of the ULM family for more than 42 years, providing over $1.8 million in scholarships for female students in healthcare related majors.

The Lettie Pate Whitehead Foundation has proposed a grant of $131,000 to the ULM Foundation to be used for health sciences scholarships during the 2015-2016 academic year—a five percent increase over their 2014-2015 grant.

The award was accepted by Carrie Davis Conway, senior program officer of the Lettie Pate Whitehead Foundation. Conway joined the Foundation staff in 2014. She previously served as Executive Director of the Southeast Region for CARE USA, and has 10 years of experience working in development in the higher education sector.

Previous Hall of Distinction honorees include J.P. Morgan Chase (2009); CenturyLink (2008); the Emy-Lou Biedenharn Foundation (2007); Nelson D. and Bennie Hughes Abell (2006); the Thomas H. and Mayme P. Scott Foundation (2005); and Kitty DeGree (2004).

For more information about the ULM Foundation and giving to ULM, visit ulm.edu/foundation