ULM logo
ULM alumnus named president-elect of pharmacy academy board

Published May 04, 2015

University of Louisiana at Monroe alumnus Gary McCrory, RPh, CCN, has been named president-elect of the 2015 International Academy of Compounding Pharmacists (IACP) Board of Directors by the IACP membership. His term will begin in January 2016.


McCrory graduated from ULM in 1977 with Bachelor of Science degree in pharmacy.

The IACP is an association representing more than 4,000 pharmacists, technicians, students, and members of the compounding community who focus upon the specialty practice of pharmacy compounding.

Pharmacy compounding is the long-established tradition in pharmacy practice that enables physicians to prescribe, and patients to take medicines that are specially prepared by pharmacists to meet patients’ individual needs.

In a statement released by the IACP, David G. Miller, IACP executive vice president and CEO said, “Having the clinical and professional expertise of individuals like Gary McCrory is essential to IACP's role in developing the best practices of compounding pharmacists everywhere. Each of our volunteer board members brings unique experience as both practitioners and business managers to guide IACP and its membership. We are fortunate to have Gary as part of our leadership team.”

McCrory is currently a Pharmacy Management Consultant with the Professional Compounding Centers of America (PCCA) in Houston.

McCrory has been active in community pharmacy since 1977 and is in his fourth term on the IACP Board of Directors. He has been a PCCA member since 1984, and was awarded PCCA Pharmacist of Month in May 1997. Additionally, he serves on the PCCA Advisory Council. He also is a former PCCA Pharmacist of the Year.

He has served as consultant with Smart Strategies (Pharmacy Customer Service) and Genetic Testing Laboratories. He is a Certified Clinical Nutritionist, AmerisourceBergen Good Neighbor Pharmacy Regional Advisor, and a Pharmacist Preceptor Certification. He also previously served as the Texas Pharmacy Compounding Section Chairperson.