ULM logo
ULM president honored by Tangipahoa Parish

Published June 23, 2015

University of Louisiana at Monroe President Dr. Nick J. Bruno was inducted into the Florida Parishes Arena Wall of Fame Friday evening in Amite. Bruno is lauded as a major supporter of the arena’s establishment in 2004.

The honor was created to recognize individuals  who have made a significant contribution and impact through their achievements and the inspiration of others. Inductees are honored during a ceremony at the arena and a special plaque is placed in their honor on the wall of fame.


“This was quite unexpected and it is an honor I share with my family and those who served with me on making this great facility possible,” said Bruno. “Along with individuals like Harold Wright, Wesley Ridgedell, Karl Speed, Russell Jenkins, and others, we began a process which resulted in the Florida Parishes Arena.”

After the removal of pavilion areas near the Southeastern Louisiana University (SELU) campus, Bruno—a Tangipahoa Parish native—worked with former SELU President Sally Clausen and an agriculture committee to help create a new facility to cultivate the agricultural interests of the parish.

“Growing up just southeast of where the arena now stands, on a dairy farm in the little community of Sweetwater, I knew the importance of agriculture in the region,” he said. “The work to secure the funding was difficult, but the results are very rewarding and will serve the area for many years to come.”

Arena Director Kelly Wells noted that Bruno’s background in agriculture gave him a unique perspective on the parish’s need for the facility.

“His keen awareness of agriculture and his expertise in business made his role instrumental in planting the seed and carrying the torch as an advocate of the Florida Parishes Arena and vital to its very existence,” Wells said.

The arena, located in Amite, provides the community with a multi-functional facility designed to hold a variety events and to enhance local economic development. The arena hosts arts and crafts festivals, rodeos, monster truck shows, concerts, barrel racing, and much more.

The wall of fame ceremony began in 2006. Twenty honorees have now been inducted.