ULM logo
ULM gives Top Hawks iPads and ice cream

Published September 04, 2015

The University of Louisiana at Monroe Office of Recruitment and Admissions hosted an ice cream social for select freshmen students in honor of their outstanding high school test scores. These scholars are known as “Top Hawks.”

Incoming freshmen—with an American College Testing (ACT) score of 30 or higher and a high school grade point average (GPA) of 3.75 or higher—were honored with a special ceremony which included ice cream and ULM-themed gift packages, each containing a special gift—an Apple iPad and ULM iPad case.

Students who received a 32 or better ACT score were afforded the additional opportunity to study abroad.

The iPads were purchased by the ULM Foundation through private donations. Sixty-one students were earned the honor.


“This event is always a great way to highlight the high caliber students we are recruiting to ULM,” said Lisa Miller, assistant vice president marketing, enrollment, and community engagement. “Having foundation members present this year was an extra bonus because they are the ones proving the funds for the iPads and study abroad opportunities. We would not be able to do this without their help.”

The 2015 Top Hawks included:

Victor Anderson of Monroe; Paula Bearden of Calhoun; Sandarbha Bhatta of Kathmandu, Nepal; Ryan Blomquist of Pineville; Chelsea Bock of Boyce; Alison Brabham of Kentwood; Emiley Braynt of Monroe; Blake Buckman of Shreveport; Jennifer Burch of Mt. Hermon; Katrina Marie Charette of Crossett Ark.; Joshua Chisolm of West Monroe; Kristine Clement of Reserve; Madison Collins of Vivian; Alexis Cooper of DeRidder; Mallory Crawford of Pollock; Austin Dicus of Ball; Jsrry Ehlers of Kendall Park, New Jersey; Michel Elliot of Lake Charles; Edwin Feliu of Olive Branch, Miss.; Hope Felter of Crossett, Ark.; Haley Fisher of West Monroe; Orlandria Freemont of Monroe; Erica Garcia of Bossier City; Suvash Gupta of Kathmandu, Nepal; Anne Hancock of Monroe; Zachary Hancock of Dubach; and Summer Ho of Monroe.

Robbie Jester of Monroe; Abhash Jha of Kathmandu, Nepal; Peyton Johnson of Prosper, Texas; Nabin Karki of Kathmandu, Nepal; Min Kim of Shreveport; Camille Labatut of New Roads; Linda Lee of Pineville; Veronica Leggett of Oak Grove; Amanda Liberty of Baton Rouge; Abbie Melancon of St. Amant; Kylar Merrell of Sayre, Oklahoma; Ahmed Mujtaba of Hyderabad; Sarthak Neupane of Kathmandu; Aaron Nguyen of Covington; Rebecca Ortega of Harvey; Kelsey Obson of Calhoun; David Perkins of West Monroe; Rachel Rhodes of Haughton; Alyssa Rivers of Alexandria; Taylor Rodgers of Vidalia; Joseph Sanson of Jonesville; Sangya Sharma of West Monroe; Kayla Sherer of Sulphur; Sachin Shrestha of Kathmandu, Nepal; Sandeep Shrestha of Kathmandu, Nepal; Darrell Smith of Deville; Greg Sova of Auburn, Mich.; Ashley Temple of Jamestown; Bailey Thibodeaux of Lake Charles; Kimberly Tran of Shreveport; Luke Vaughn of Sterlington; Brady Wilhite of Monroe, and Kristyn Wilkerson of West Monroe.

About the ULM Foundation:

Established in 1961, the ULM Foundation is a private non-profit organization dedicated to the growth, development, and enhancement of ULM.

The Foundation manages various programs, including: scholarships, professorship and chair funds, alumni, fund-raising and development operations, college and body departmental support, and other university-related programs.