ULM logo
ULM L Club announces 2016 Hall of Fame class

Published March 30, 2016

The Class of 2016 is set for the ULM L Club Hall of Fame.

Football player Roosevelt Potts along with basketball players Ryan Stuart and Derunzia “Jab” Johnson will enter the Hall of Fame during induction ceremonies on Saturday, Nov. 5.

“This is another great class,” L Club president Andy Snelling said. “You have some of the all-time career leaders in their sports represented and they’ve enjoyed success on and off the field. This is always a great event and we’re looking forward to it. We invite all alumni and L Club members to come back and help us celebrate with the inductees.”

A Rayville native, Potts is the second-leading rusher in school history with 3,061 yards behind only Calvin Dawson 3,378 on the ground. The All-American fullback played from 1990-92, scored 17 touchdowns and averaged 4.6 yards per carry while posting 16 100-yard games. A second-round draft choice of the Indianapolis Colts in 1993, Potts led the NFL team with 711 rushing yards as a rookie and was the team’s offensive MVP that same season. Last season the Colts honored Potts as an Honorary Horseshoe Legend. He played a total of six years in the NFL from 1993-98 with the Colts, Dolphins and Ravens, before finishing his playing career in the XFL.

Stuart’s career scoring average of 21.3 ppg ranks third behind Calvin Natt and Glynn Saulters. He scored 1,238 points in two seasons and helped lead the team to NCAA Tournament appearances in 1992 and 1993. Stuart ranks 19th on ULM's scoring list, second in career field-goal percentage (.580) and 19th in career rebounds (531). He was named the Southland Conference Player of the Year and the Southland Tournament MVP in both his seasons. Stuart averaged 21.6 points per game and 57.0 percent from the field in 1992 and followed it up by averaging 21.1 points per game and shooting 59.1 percent from the field in 1993. 

Johnson played for the women’s basketball program from 1987-90 and ranks fourth in program history with 1,542 points and second in rebounds behind Lisa Ingram with 1,006. She holds the career record with 12.3 rebounds per game and ranks fourth in career scoring at 18.8 points and seventh in blocked shots (100). A three-time All-Southland Conference selection, Johnson was named to the Southland’s 1980s All-Decade team in 2013.

Hall of Fame weekend details for Nov. 4-5 regarding the induction brunch and golf tournament will follow at a later date. ULM football plays host to South Alabama on that Saturday.