ULM logo
ULM gives freshmen Top Hawks iPads and ice cream

Published September 1, 2016

MONROE, La. — The University of Louisiana Monroe Office of Recruitment and Admissions hosted an ice cream social for select freshmen students on Thursday in honor of their outstanding high school test scores. These scholars are known as “Top Hawks.”

Incoming freshmen—with an American College Testing (ACT) score of 30 or higher and a high school grade point average (GPA) of 3.75 or higher—were honored with a special ceremony which included ice cream and ULM-themed gift packages, each containing a special gift—an Apple iPad mini and ULM iPad case.

Students who received a 32 or better ACT score were awarded a $4,500 stipend for a study abroad experience.

The iPads were purchased by the ULM Foundation through private donations. Seventy-eight students were earned the honor.

“This event is always a great way to highlight the high caliber students we are recruiting to ULM,” said Lisa Miller, ULM Chief Communications Officer. “Having foundation members present this year was an extra bonus because they are the ones proving the funds for the iPads and study abroad opportunities. We would not be able to do this without their help.”

The 2016 Top Hawks included:

Karalyn Adams of Lockport, Ill.; Anusha Adhikari of Kathmandu, Nepal; Yogesh Agrawal of Kathmandu, Nepal; Dakari Anderson of Hampton, Ga.; James Anderson of Monroe; Allie Ballance of West Monroe; Christopher Barton of Elmer; Sierra Bernard of Prairieville; Brittany Boren of Vidalia; Julia Boullt of Lake Charles; Sarah Brack of Evans; John Campbell of Laplace; Brittney Champagne of Laplace; Brandon Cohen of Brandon, Miss.; Sarah Corley of Pineville; Kyle Dacdac of Pineville; Hari Dahal of Kathmandu, Nepal; Ethan Dennis of Shreveport; Sachi Dhakal of Kathmandu, Nepal; Gavyn Diviney of Longview, Texas; Taylor Dupree of Farmerville; Emily Eastham of Corpus Christi, Texas; Caroline Edge of Bossier City; Patrick Ellerman of Monroe; Baxter Flor of San Diego, Calif.; Taylor Foret of Raceland; Kellyn Foster of West Monroe; Aaron Freeman of Dubach; Annaclaire Fryday of Shreveport; Alex Gervais of Thibodaux; Colby Glatter of Morgan City; Madelyn Greer of Pineville; Cameron Gregory of Thibodaux; Hope Hebert of Lake Charles; Sadaf Helforoosh of Austin, Texas; Hunter Henson of West Monroe; Briana Hogan of Colwich, Kan.; Linsey Hrabovsky of Daphne, Ala.; Jeffrey Hursey of Slidell; Ellen Ingram of Natchitoches; and Audrey Jennings of Sarepta;

Shelby Joyner of Calhoun; Joshua Kebodeaux of Morse; Lawrence Khadka of Kathmandu, Nepal; Sandra Knowles of Republic, Wash.; Taylor Matranga of Pearl River; Taylor Moneaux of Delcambre; Hannah Monk of West Monroe; Andrew Moore of Monroe; Daisy Morris of Shawnee, Kan.; Jacob Nadler of West Monroe; Austin Nettles of Pineville; Allison Newton of Monroe; Ganesh Pandey of Arghakhanchi, Nepal; Micheal Parker of Downsville; Kolby Patrick of West Monroe;

Elizabeth Peters of Woodstock, Ga.; Gaurav Phuyal of Kathmandu, Nepal; Sabnum Pudasainy of Kathmandu, Nepal; Charles Riddick of Pineville; Justin Sandrock of Slidell; Sanjeeb Sangraula of Kathmandu, Nepal; Miranda Spurgeon of Farmerville; Odom Stagg of Zachary; Savanah Steines of Columbia; Uniqua Stevenson of Homer; Sachin Thapa of Kathmandu, Nepal; Alanna Thompson of Pioneer; Shelby Tibbit of Winnsboro; William Tingle of Gautier, Miss.; Sarah Treadway of Jonesboro; Brandon Treno of West Monroe; Matthew Troha of Baskin; Alex Turner of Vicksburg, Miss.; Monica Whitman of Pineville; Charles Wilkerson of West Monroe; Kevin Yabut of Bastrop; Logan Yelverton of Houma, and Peyton Zalewski of Prairieville.

About the ULM Foundation:

Established in 1961, the ULM Foundation is a private non-profit organization dedicated to the growth, development, and enhancement of ULM.

The Foundation manages various programs, including: scholarships, professorship and chair funds, alumni, fund-raising and development operations, college and body departmental support, and other university-related programs.