ULM logo
ULM's School of Construction Management to receive $97,000 Thursday

Louisiana Licensing Board for Construction Management to present check at 10 a.m.

The University of Louisiana Monroe’s School of Construction Management will accept a check for $97,000 from the Louisiana Licensing Board for Construction Management at a press conference Thursday.

The event will be in the Media Room on the sixth floor of the ULM Library.


“We are extremely grateful for these funds,” said Ed Brayton, Director of ULM School of Construction and Management. “These funds support our efforts to enhance our students’ learning by upgrading the facilities to meet initiatives on the Industry Advisory Councils 2020 Strategic Plan.”
“In the past the money has been used to renovate the classrooms by painting the walls, installing whiteboards, and carpeting the classrooms,” said Brayton. “Also, an amount has been allocated to our Construction Practices laboratory and a substantial contribution to the Don Beach Atrium project that will be built in the future.”
Donations are generated through a volunteer program where contractors have the option to supply funds for education.
“This money is shared with other Louisiana Construction Management programs from the Louisiana Contractors Licensing fee that is voluntary,” Brayton said.
The ULM School of Construction was the first-ever program of its kind to be accredited in the United States, and to date, the program has graduated over 2,000 students.
About the Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors:
The Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors (LSLBC) was created in 1956 by Act 233 of the Legislature (La. R.S. 37:2150-2192).  The mission and purpose of this agency is the protection of the general public from incompetent and fraudulent acts of a contractor while promoting the integrity of the construction industry. The State Licensing Board for Contractors consists of 15 Commercial members appointed by the Governor representing all segments of the contracting industry, and five Residential Subcommittee members.


Oct. 31, 2017